Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon

Cougars Retreat- wireless internet- 2 miles to slopes

Bedrooms 5
Space sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, 10 Sleeps

Cougars Retreat is a newly completely renovated mountain house located in downtown Banner Elk.-Firepit--- With wireless internet

This beautiful mountain getaway has 5 bedrooms and will comfortably sleep 10 adults and children. There is one king bedroom located on main floor, 3 Queen bedrooms, 1 bedroom with 2 twin beds located on the main floor and 3 full bathrooms. New hardwoods and carpet throughout the house. The kitchen opens up to the great room with an outdoor deck and another outdoor deck is located on the bottom level. The kitchen also has brand new appliances and all utensils are provided. We offer a charcoal grill for those renters that want that great true grill taste. Just don't forget your charcoal.

This mountain house has a rustic decor with log beds in two of the rooms, leather furniture and rustic accents. On the main floor is the King Bedroom and the other bedroom located on the main floor has 2 twin beds. Then on the lower level there are 2 bedrooms with 'Queen beds and on the upper floor there is a queen bedroom with a private bath.. 3 Floors total..'

Banner Elk is a quaint little town located at the base of Beech Mountain. You can enjoy mountain biking, hiking, skiing, the Zip Line and plenty of other fun outdoor activities. All are nearby.

As far as restaurants, Banner Elk has a great local coffee shop, lunch cafes, and fine dining. And don't forget the Banner Elk Winery which has tours Tuesday thru Sunday. 12:00 til 6 PM.

For the wintertime vacationers that wish to snow ski, you are 5 miles from Beech Mountain and 2 miles from Sugar Mountain. So why not enjoy both ski resorts in one weekend.

This mountain getaway is centrally located, so you can get to Boone in less than 25 min, Blowing Rock in less than 35 minutes and Grandfather Mountain is less than 20 minutes. So if a local festival is happening, you are close by.

Schedule you vacation today and call us if you have any questions.

More Details

Property Manager
Katie Purgason
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 7, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

Awesome house and we will be back.. Came from Flordia and had 4 groups that stayed in other houses and everyone agreed we had the nicest house. Fire pit was so much fun. Had a wedding at EAgles Nest and we were so close to it. Worked out perfect.
Sep 2012
  • 1 of 4


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

Miami, FL

This is a wonderful retreat!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this cabin to celebrate Christmas in the mountains. While I'm a northern girl at heart, we currently live in southern Florida. My in-laws live in Charlotte. We decided to rent this cabin so that my husbands family could all be together over the holidays. This house suited us beautifully. There are three levels so the house doesn't feel cramped. There are also plenty of bathrooms, which is a bonus. As others have said, the furnishings are upscale and the beds are comfortable. We had a fire going most of the time we were there. I was worried about finding wood and sleds, but neither was an issue. From what I could tell, you could get either at MANY places, including the grocery store. Be sure to buy kindling because the logs can be moist and we used it to get things going. Firestarter or paper logs would be a good option, too. We didn't eat out while there, and found it easy to prepare meals at the house. However, we did take advantage of the Beech mountain sledding hill with children ages 3 - 8 and all had a blast. They make snow there so it is always white. It is in the town of Beech Mountain near the chamber of commerce. Initially I thought it was in Banner Elk and was very confused as to where it was. We also went to wine tasting at Banner Elk Winery. The wine was fantastic and the decor is delightful. A group was there sitting by the fire, drinking wine and eating cheese and crackers. i think you can do that, too. My sister and mother-in-law got a mani-pedi in town at hollywood nails and enjoyed that. I got coffee next door, which was delicious. We will definitely return.

Perhaps the best feature of the house is the owner. She is absolutely delightful and low key. I've rented a lot of houses in my time and she is easily the nicest person I have ever rented from. it was a very low stress vacation.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the sweet response. It is so nice to get in family like yours that really appreciate things. You guys are welcome to come back anytime. You were a joy to work with too. Katie Purgason Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
9 1

Couldn't ask for more!

  • 5 of 5

Cougars Retreat is ideal & centrally located for those wanting to ski at sugar and beech. The owner was great and responded to any questions I had very promptly. The cabin itself was very clean and spacious, providing plenty of room for our group of 10. We had a great time & would definitely book again.

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a great time. Come back and stay again!! Thank you for taking care of our cabin! Katie Purgason
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great family retreat

  • 4 of 5

I gave 4 stars only because the steps entering the cottage are a bit challenging for those of us older and a bit out of shape. Otherwise it was perfect for our family retreat. We had plenty of space for 10. The kitchen was great for meals. Cabin was very kid frendly. Had all the basic amenities. Owner was great at answering question and responding to us. Would definitely rent again. Thank you

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh Thank you for the review. Yes it can be a little tricky with the steps especially when they are covered with snow. Hope you come back real soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cornelius, NC

Perfect Mountain Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Just got back from my mountain getaway vacation at "Cougars Retreat" and I must say what a wonderful time I had. The location was perfect! The furnishings were first class. I loved the dining table so much that I am going to ask the owner where she got it so I can get one for myself. Everything was spotless and all the appliances were new and up-to-date. I love to cook and found everything I could need or use in the well-stocked kitchen. This is a first class getaway and is close to all the slopes. My only regret is that I didn't book it for longer. I definitely plan on going back and will recommend this house to all my friends and family as well. It was also a pleasure talking with the owner, Katie. She was super helpful and friendly. I have booked other houses before and you often wonder about whether what you see in the pictures is what you are going to get but I can say that the pictures do not do this home justice. It is a beautiful home, gorgeously decorated, perfectly located and trouble-free, which is what a vacation is supposed to be. I cannot wait to plan another getaway to "Cougars Retreat"!!

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Not what we thought

  • 1 of 5

I am sure the owner of this unit is a nice person but there were so many things that went wrong that I feel the need to warn others. First of all, we had difficulty confirming our reservation. Granted, the person that made the reservation and the person that sent the check were two different people - BUT, appropriate documentation was provided during every interaction (and with every check sent). Still had trouble up until nearly the day we left simply confirming we were good to go. Second, the unit itself is in need of some TLC. Basically no instruction on how to operate much of anything in the unit outside of the basics - you are totally on your own. More importantly, however, is the major stuff that went wrong. The heat never worked as specified - boiling hot in the evenings, ice cold by morning. So much was missing/broken/unusable - missing/burned out light bulbs, non-functional coffee maker (went out and purchased one after two days without), lack of wine bottle opener and lots of other kitchen basics - to sum it up, really elementary stuff. The cabin itself was in a bit of disrepair - broken door knobs, kitchen cabinets out of their hinges, windows that didn't shut. The stairs to get into the cabin are steep and very slippery when wet. If you have anyone in your party that has mobility issues, this is not the rental for them. Please also note that there is no wifi connection - which is OK but we just would have wanted to know this going in. Finally, we rented this for 3 families to come together for Christmas (which was mentioned several times) - although this cabin sleeps 10+ there is only a small kitchen/pub like table for dining that seats 4 and virtually no other place to sit as the living area (common space) is the smallest part of the home. We had to do every meal in shifts - had I had any idea that this cabin could sleep so many but service so few I would have said no right off the bat.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First of all we got a check in the mail with no info on which house you were renting and what dates or anything. The check came with no phone number or email address or any info so I could book the house. So I had to write a letter to the address the check came from. It took over 2 months for me to hear from someone about which house they wanted and the dates. As for the elememtary stuff wine opener we supply mostly everything but sometimes things disappear. My kitchen is fully stocked. There were extra bulbs in the drawer. As for the WIFI we didn't advertise that we had it. Sorry you must have read that on another web page. As for the steps to get up there that's the way most houses are in the mountains. I wouldn't suggest it for eldery in the winter either. As for the dinette there is a huge table with 6 stools.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
durham, nc

Beautiful Cabin and location

  • 5 of 5

Katie was very accommodating in helping us with our last minute plans. The house is gorgeous and a great place to stay for any occasion. There is so much to do nearby and the woods are beautiful. The cabin is very comfortable and it's easy to make your self at home. Thank you again Katie!! We hope to return soon :)

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a great time. Come again and stay during the winter. Snow is going to be plentiful this winter so they say. Thank you for the review too.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning and all linens $120 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

Nightly Rate: $150 - $400

Weekly Rate: $750 - $2500

Monthly Rate: $750 - $2500

Look for specials. We usually have one running.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing


Banner Elk House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 10
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet ...
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Wireless internet Wood burning Fireplace- Bring your firewood for a cozy fire.. 2 Covered Outdoor Decks Washer and Dryer 2 Dens- one on First Floor and one downstairs Fully Equiped Kitchen 2 Flat Screen TVS 32' Charcoal Grill Fire Pit Outside.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car

Other Vacation Properties