Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy Cabin - only yards to the lake!

Bedrooms 2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Baths, Sleeps 4 adults + a few children in the loft

Adorable Cozy Cabin only YARDS from beautiful 13 mile Lake Wallenpaupack! Enjoy the warmth of the cabin, the beauty of the lake, a campfire while watching the sunset on the lake. It's the best time of the year in the Poconos! So inexpensive right now!

This is the perfect place if you're trying to get away from it all and relax for a few days or a few weeks.

Cabin has two bedrooms (one queen, two twins), one bath. Suitable for 4 adults and children. Less than 100 yards from beautiful 13 mile long Lake Wallenpaupack. Boat and wave runner rentals are available right down the street. Come fish and swim in warm summer and fall lake.

Cozy Cabin is very comfortable and welcoming. We have a single bath, living room, full kitchen with all the accoutrements, including a crock pot and microwave, sweet sunroom and deck. You can see the water from the deck, in between the trees.

Have fun floating around the lake on your raft!

Enjoy the sunset from the beach and then a fire right in the back yard fire pit.

Boat and water ski rentals available less than a mile from the cabin.

Really close to Promised Land State Park and Delaware State Park for great hiking and snowmobiling trails.

35 minutes from Bushkill Falls, Big Bear Ski Area for winter fun Skiing, Snowboarding and Snowtubing.

Price may be based on occupancy.

4x4 vehicle necessary to access in winter!

More Details

Kathleen Smith
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 28, 2017

About Kathleen Smith

Bob and Kathy Smith, we are the owners of the cabin since 2010, Bob's Father purchased it a few years before us and put in hardwood floors and wood ceiling, new lighting fixtures, the sun room. We're always working to make it better!

Kathleen Smith purchased this cabin in 2010

Why Kathleen Smith chose Pennsylvania

It's warm and cozy in the winter and refreshingly cool in the summer and just up the street from the lake, we have an outdoor firepit and comfly seating everywhere. You can see the lake from the deck. It's a very relaxing getaway.

What makes this cabin unique

Fresh mountain air that somehow relaxes you almost instantly. Fresh water to swim in at the lake, great fishing.


Tafton Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Lake View
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Shower, Toilet and Sink
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Queen size bed in this room. Very comfortable.
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Two twins sized beds in this room.
    Loft for kids - 1 double , 3 twin/ single , The loft sleeps lots of kids! Climb the ladder to it!
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • autumn foliage
  • festivals
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
TV with basic cable, DVD player with small DVD collection. CD player. Small Washer and Dryer. Deck has table and four chairs and a gas grill. Parking for two vehicles plus watercraft. Contact me for more information and pictures! Cleaning fee may apply. Paypal fee required (approximately 3.5% of total). Sorry, we can no longer accept personal or cashier checks. PayPal is safe for everyone. 6% Sales Tax applies. Security Deposit is required or an insurance policy may be purchased for $49-$'s your choice.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)


Hi! This is the owner, Kathy Smith! In response to the one bad review below........

  • 5 of 5

I didn't get a chance to respond to the one bad review I've received and it's too late for me to do so! So I'm answering to it now. Every once in awhile you get a crazy guest! It happens! That's life! What's funny to me is, I have the emails exchanged between the two of us and I had returned her security deposit on a timely basis, she just didn't check first! My cabin is in the mountains, if you don't want steep roads, don't come to the mountains. I depend on my guests to let me know how the cabin was left for them by the previous renters, I ask everyone to let me know upon arrival. I didn't hear a word about it being left dirty for her until a year later! Too late! And the loft is safe for children! My own sleep up there! I didn't charge her twice to return the itmes she left behind, it was a $6 UPS fee and I even voluntarily sent them to her sisters house at her request. So please don't judge my cabin on one bad review. It's a great cabin, you'll love it.


Kathy Smith


  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

15 degrees outside at night nice and warm inside . Nice and quiet perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5


  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Tom!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing family vacation!!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely love the Cozy Cottage, which is true to its name! This was our second time staying and each time is better than the last! The cottage itself is so relaxing. We really enjoyed sitting on the deck and getting to see the beautiful deer each morning. Our family had a wonderful time fishing off the dock, the kids were super excited to catch their first fish! We also enjoyed the nearby town of Hawley. The restaurants were amazing and we had had so much fun at the Penny Lane Candy store. There is also a nearby grocery store if you want to cook at the cottage, which we also did. We have made such wonderful memories at the Cozy Cottage, and can't wait until our next stay!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Excellent place to vusit

  • 5 of 5

The cozy cabin was everything and more!

My family had a great time, the cabin was very spacious and everything worked without any issues.

The distance from the cabin to the lake was practically a stone throw which made the visit even better.

I would highly recommend this little getaway to anyone who is looking for a nice, clean, quiet, comfortable place to stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed our place! Bob and Kathy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The pictures are misleading...

  • 1 of 5

The property is located at the top of a very steep hill. The property itself was dirty upon arrival. The sleeping loft was unsafe and scared my kids. We left behind some items and the owner was difficult in getting them back to us even though we paid her twice for shipping. She also held our deposit for the entire 30 days even though everything was left perfect and clean. Worst rental ever. You get what you pay for.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! If you're coming to the mountains, expect steep hills! That's what mountains are! I ask all my renters to let me know how the cabin was left for them upon their arrival so I can do something about it right then and there, not months later. I only charged her $6 to return the items she left behind and was even courteous enough to send them to her relatives address for her. Oh, and the security deposit was refunded way before the 30 day deadline, she just didn't check before emailing me and has since forgotten. I fortunately have the emails to prove it. The loft is very safe for kids! My own play and sleep up there! This is the first bad review I've even gotten and it's a grateful reminder to me to appreciate all my other lovely normal renters. Thank you all!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Bloomsburg PA

Exactly as advertised

  • 4 of 5

Clean, well-equipped, and cozy. My 4th grader loved the loft! The neighbors are really friendly and helpful. We must have seen 100 deer in the quiet, wooded neighborhood. I was an excellent value. The owner was super responsive to all of my questions and checked on us by phone to ensure everything was to our liking.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0



Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Nightly Rate
Jun 1 2017 - Jun 1 2017
4 night minimum stay
Nightly Rate
Jun 2 2017 - Jun 2 2017
4 night minimum stay
Nightly Rate
Jun 9 2017 - Jun 9 2017
4 night minimum stay
Nightly Rate
Jun 23 2017 - Jun 23 2017
4 night minimum stay
Nightly Rate
Jul 14 2017 - Jul 14 2017
4 night minimum stay
Nightly Rate
Jul 21 2017 - Jul 21 2017
4 night minimum stay
Nightly Rate
Aug 4 2017 - Aug 4 2017
4 night minimum stay
Nightly Rate
Aug 11 2017 - Aug 11 2017
4 night minimum stay
Nightly Rate
Aug 18 2017 - Aug 18 2017
4 night minimum stay
Nightly Rate
Aug 25 2017 - Aug 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
Nightly Rate
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 1 2017
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 16.5%

Nightly Rate: $75 - $220
Weekly Rate: $525 - $1540
Monthly Rate: Inquire
Rates shown are for 2 adults per night. Summer rates are at the higher end of the scale. I am only booking minimum 4 night increments for Summer-time.

Tax is 6% and 3%; PayPal fee is 3.5%; Processing fee 4% (I had to put it in as taxes of 16.5% to get the correct amount to tally)
Best deal in the Poconos!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Ask a Question Ask a Question

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car

You might like these similar properties