Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Somerfield Cabin at Yough Lake SECLUDED + 2 MIN TO LAKE, MARINA and Fishing

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, sleeps 6 just minutes to Yough Lake and Marina

Somerfield Cabin at Yough Lake is a rustic cabin with all of the amenties you would have at home. It's very private with panoramic views of the mountain and just 2 minutes to Yough Lake Marina, public boat launch and Somerfield Recreation area. Just 10 miles to white water rafting, biking and hiking at Ohiopyle or Confluence, Frank Lloyd Wright homes and historic sites. We frequently see turkeys, deer with their fawn, and a variety of wild birds. If you're lucky you may even see a BEAR! Each season brings beautiful views of the woods, from fall foliage to snow covered trees, to flowers in the spring. Yough Lake Marina offers boat rentals and boat slips.

This property is ideal for a romantic getaway, fishing trip, family or friends!

NON SMOKING HOUSE and about 2 minutes to Yough Lake, Somerfield Recreation area, Marina and public boat launch.

More Details

Owner
Beth
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 17, 2018

Amenities

Confluence Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • There is a full bath on ground floor and full bath on 3rd floor
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • The cabin has 3 floors. 1 Bedroom is on ground floor and 1 bedroom is on 3rd floor. Main floor has living room, dining room and kitchen. There is a sleeper sofa on this floor in the dining area. Cabin sleeps 6 total max.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • festivals
  • forests
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Somerfield Cabin has a wood burning fireplace, central AC and heat system, a flat screen TV w/DVD player, Hughesnet Internet, fully stocked kitchen, linens and towels provided, puzzles, and playing cards. There are 2 Full Bathrooms, 2 Bedrooms each with a queen bed and fold out queen sleep in the living room. There is a porch off of the living room with table and chairs for dining "el fresco" or simply enjoying the view! First Floor: Living Area w/Flat Screen and DVD Player (No tv service) Sitting Area w/Queen Sleep Sofa Kitchen w/Island and Stools-Full sized appliances and fully stocked for cooking and serving. Wood Burning Fireplace Deck off of the Kitchen and a big covered Front Porch Second Floor: BR #1 - Queen ~ Full Bath Lower Level: BR #2 - Queen ~ Full Bath Outdoors: Charcoal BBQ Grill & Firepit Winter renters please note: Our gravel driveway is on a slope may not be accessible without 4 wheel drive in times of heavy snow accumulation, however, you can park at bottom and walk up

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
4% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Somerfield Cabin at Yough Lake SECLUDED + 2 MIN TO LAKE, MARINA and Fishing
average rating of 4.7619047 based on 21 reviews
Davidsonville, MD
3

Nice, but....

  • 3 of 5

Convenient to area activities and nice cabin. My family enjoyed the kitchen and porch as well as the big TV. Beds and chairs all seemed to be low to the ground and could be larger. Ran out of hot water quickly with only 4 of us there. Shower heads could be better. Noisy neighbors broke up the peace and quiet.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Paul, It is unusual for the hot water to run out quickly so we will definitely check on that. Sorry about the neighbors. We were not aware that they were noisy. Maybe because of July 4th. Thanks for staying with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful place!

  • 5 of 5

Although the weather was terrible, we really enjoyed our relaxing stay at this cabin. There was nothing that it lacked. We wanted to read books and explore the nearby nature and, well, even though the weather was bag, we were able to comfortably lounge around the cabin and watch it rain. The fact that the cabin is so comfortable me this trip well with it. It is definitely recommend.

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at the Somerfield Cabin. It was clean, cozy, and perfect for our family. Ohiopyle and other nearby attractions were a short drive away. The owners were approachable and gave clear, concise instructions for accessing the property. The only thing I would change is that there was no TV/satellite service, nor did we get cell service. Had we known that ahead of time, we would have brought movies with us to watch in the evenings.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pittsburgh, PA
4

Near Perfection.

  • 4 of 5

This lovely cabin is set perfectly on a little hill in an absolutely gorgeous valley with beautiful views from the front porch.

It's tough to find cabins that don't require 15 people to fill it out and to cover the cost of renting. This cabin sleeps 4 perfectly and is priced to match.

It offers just the right amount of solitude, while still being fairly close to some fun stuff to do. You can lounge around all day, enjoying some nature – or head out for a walk down the road to the lake or stream.

There's plenty of active nature around – deer walking the driveway, chipmunks scurrying all over, and plenty of squirrels.

The kitchen is more than adequate and was better stocked with tools and utensils than most cabins we've stayed at. Sharp knives, larger pots, non-stick pans that are actually still non-stick, and even a nice cast-iron skillet for someone who knows what they're doing.

As some others have mentioned, the driveway is of the gravel variety, and a bit steep. Most vehicles will be perfectly fine unless it's winter. The gravel was very well maintained.

Our only criticism is that the mattresses could be a bit more substantial. They were a bit on the thin side, but still comfortable enough for a good night sleep after a glass or two.

Will absolutely be returning and recommending to friends.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Philadelphia, PA
3

Very clean house, overpriced, description a bit misleading

  • 3 of 5

The 2nd bedroom is in the basement, and is pretty much a hole. There is no bathroom on the main floor (which was hard for our elderly guest), and the driveway is extremely steep and impossible without a four wheel drive even in the summer. This house would be comfortable for one couple and one or two children, and the rate really should be lower by comparison to other houses we have stayed in. The wifi is so bad the description should just say there is no wifi available. The house was immaculately clean, especially for being pet friendly. It is in a very beautiful location, very isolated, and not near a busy road, which is nice. There is no stereo or radio available, so bring your own.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great family cabin

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was secluded but easy to find. Close to the state parks and lakes. Plenty of space in the cabin for 6 adults to spread out.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Nemacolin Golf Resort
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Yough Lake
Car: necessary
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* White Water Rafting.

* Natural Water Slides.

* Cucumber Falls.

* Dining.

* Swimming.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Hike Trails.

* Bike Trails.

* Picnics at Ohiopyle State Park.

* Boating at Yough Lake.

* Historic sites.

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Local Festivals.

* Bowling at Nemacolin Ski Lodge.

* Nemacolin Woodlands Zoo Animals.

* Fishing at Yough Lake.

* Fallingwater / Kentuck Knob.

Somerfield Cabin is 2 minutes to Yough Lake w/easy access to the lake and the marina which is just 2 minutes away. Bring your Boat or Jet Ski! Boat rentals and boat slips are available at the marina. Youghiogheny River Lake is considered the best power boating and water-skiing lake in southwestern Pennsylvania! Yough Lake offers excellent fishing for pan fish and especially known as a hotspot for walleye and smallmouth bass. Somerfield Recreation area offers covered picnic pavillions, swimming and fishing from shoreline.

It's just a 10 mile scenic drive to Ohiopyle State Park or Confluence which is best known for an exciting day of rafting the white waters of the Yough River, the natural water slides, several wonderful restaurants, hiking and biking, and numerous other outdoor activities. The area also has golfing, ATV trails, antique shops, spa, sporting clays, and horseback riding and casino.

Sightseeing highlights include 2 Frank Lloyd Wright homes, Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob, as well as Laurel Caverns, Christian Klay Winery, Jumonville Cross & Christian Camp, Fort Necessity National Battlefield, George Marshall Memorial, The Great Allegheny Passage, hiking, biking and whitewater rafting and more!. Confluence, Seven Springs Resort, Nemacolin Resort & Casino, Yough Lake, Deep Creek Lake, Wisp and Uniontown just a short drive away! Also nearby for your convenience are restaurants, gas stations and grocery stores.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Refundable damage deposit $200

Security Deposits ~ $200 (REFUNDABLE)
$200 Rental Deposit to secure your requested dates. Balance due 20 days prior to arrival date.
$25 Pet Fee w/prior approval.
Holidays require 3 nights stay
Weekends require 2 nights stay
Guests please note during winter months we do not plow the driveway. In times of heavy snow you may have to park at the bottom and walk up the sloped drive to the cabin.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.