Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Brenda's Beach House (WOODY'S) - Sandy beach, gentle sloping lake bottom.

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 14 Sleeps

The Upper Crooked Lake is a 735-acre all-sports lake located in the Gun Lake area near Kalamazoo's premiere Gull Lake. It is located next to the quaint tourist town of Delton in Barry County, home to some of the most beautiful lakes in Michigan. Upper Crooked enjoys the lowest boat traffic of the four largest lakes in the area and is part of a chain of lakes surrounded by the Michigan State Nature Preserve (Lux Arbor). Swans, geese, cranes and loons can be seen all summer long and the fishing is spectacular!


Owner
Woody's Beach Houses
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 15, 2018

About Woody's Beach Houses

We are Michiganders who now hail from Austin, Texas. There's nothing better than the endless summers of Michigan, where we raised our family on the lakefront. We hope our properties will bring fond memories to all our guests, their families and friends as it has for us.

Woody's Beach Houses purchased this cottage in 2003

Why Woody's Beach Houses chose Delton

We purchased and renovated Brenda's Beach House to be a mecca for our family and friends. We designed the property to be family friendly - the way we wanted it for our family. We are honored to have many perennial guests who have been staying with us since we purchased our first vacation rental in the area, in 2003.

What makes this cottage unique

Enjoy the benefits of a newly renovated home and all the luxuries of home. Look out the wall of windows and feel like you're on a houseboat floating on the lake. The gentle slope of the lake bottom and sandy beach are ideal for young families and elderly alike. The lake is low traffic allowing for teaming wildlife (eagles, swans, cranes, fish, turtles, frogs and more) year round.

Amenities

Delton Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Main Floor Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Toilet/shower separated by pocket door, laundry facilities
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Jack and Jill bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Second Floor - Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Second Story - Bedroom 4 - 4 twin/ single , Two sets of twin bunks, beautiful lake view
    Main Floor Master - 1 queen , Premium mattress set, TV/DVD, dresser and ample closets
    Second Floor - Bedrooom 3 - 1 queen
    Second Floor - Bedroom 5 - 4 twin/ single , Two sets of twin bunks, awesome lake view
  • Each bedroom has a generous closet and dresser, nicely decorated with many windows - several with stunning views of the lake.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Brenda's Beach House is another Woody's Beach House property located on beautiful Upper Crooked Lakefront. Each each house is all located directly on the lake with its own private sandy frontage. The cottages are just a gentle slope from the lake level for easy access and convenience. Each cottage is appointed in a family-friendly way so guests can enjoy tasteful furnishings and the conveniences of home. Each features a large deck overlooking the lake, picnic tables, adirondack chairs, firepit, gas grill, fishing boat, pedal boat, a newer 50+ foot dock and much more.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
Brenda's Beach House (WOODY'S) - Sandy beach, gentle sloping lake bottom.
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews
5

We Didn't Want to Leave!

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time and at the end of our week, wished we could have stayed longer. This home was great, and everything we could have asked for! Equipped with everything we needed, and wanted the entire time. Room to spread out, and room to be together. We had 10 at one point, and all were able to sit together and play games, and eat meals. (We also all could retreat to our own space, when needed.) Loved and used the firepit every day - well stocked with wood, and chairs/seating. The lake was amazing, we had a blast boating, fishing and lounging - the perfect mix of relaxation and fun! Beautiful sunsets and tranquility. Plenty of towels and bedding, and having the washer and dryer was a lifesaver. Comfortable beds, too! Every kitchen utensil and tool made mealtimes a breeze. Only one complaint: I hated seeing a scale in the bathroom! Did NOT want to be reminded of the week long over-indulgences. :) Owners were responsive and helpful with the few questions we had, and we had absolutely zero issues when we were there. We would come back without question! A+ in our book. Thanks for setting the stage for our wonderful vacation.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aww - thanks so much for your kind comments! We try our best to make sure each group has a fantastic time. It would be our pleasure to have your family back any time, and we will make sure to make that white gizmo with numbers disappear :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great family fun

  • 5 of 5

This was our third year hear and we love it. First off, Brett is extremely responsive to any needs you have, His response time is remarkably fast. The house is well kept, and holds many people. The lake is beautiful and very clean, Fishing is usually good, we usually get quite a few bass and northern pike. Rent the pontoon boat! It is always well maintained and never fails to start. The house provides great kitchen utensils, tons of towels, and air conditioning works great. Also, another great amenity is the firewood. Don't miss this place if you want some great family fun. Thanks for another great week Brett

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much, Mark! So glad your family had a great time, and hope to have you out again next summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Nice lake - tired house

  • 2 of 5

Good fishing. Nice pontoon available to rent from owner. Waterfront super buggy and dirty. Paddle boat and aluminum boat dirty. Super loud equipment always running under master bedroom. Owner gave allowance for non working air conditioning and no hot water showers.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Mary, thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the convergence of issues during your 2018 Memorial Day stay with all of the flooding in the area this spring! I hope you found we were highly attentive to the issues that sprung up, and did all we could to assure your satisfaction including the refund for inconvenience. The AC issue was fixed while you were there (the initial repair company installed a blower backwards). Though the hot water heater was working during your stay, one of the heating elements popped a breaker which reduced capacity and is back to normal. Living on a lake always means bugs and dirt at certain times during the year, but we will definitely check on the paddle and jon boats. We ask our guests to treat our place as their own, but sometimes things are left upright in the elements or sand and then put back dirty, so its possible we missed that. Thanks again for staying with us. We hope you will consider staying with us again, and we do appreciate your feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Lovely

  • 5 of 5

Second time staying here. Hope to be back again next year.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the kind review. So glad you had another great visit and we look forward to having you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Clean, spacious and well maintained.

  • 5 of 5

Was an excellent experience. There were several issues at the property which the owners were extremely prompt to have addressed. Would definitely go back for another stay. Quiet and peaceful.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Very relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

The house was very clean and well stocked, well maintained, including forks for marshmallows on thepit and wood for the fire pit! The view was beautiful! I would recommend this for all types of families with children and pets as well. We drove into Kalamazoo for a visit and shopping which was a mere 30 minutes away. The local restaurant was convenient as well.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the kind review! We hope your group can come visit us again soon! Cheers!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
KZO Kalamazoo
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Tujax
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Gull Lake View
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Amtrak Kalamazoo
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
M-43
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Bowen's
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Bittersweet Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
On premise
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Boat swim fish.

* Golf bike hike.

* Museums Shopping Restaurants.

* Sporting Events.

* Downhill Cross Country Snowmobiling.

Top Thing to do in Budget:.....

Top Thing to do in Family:.....

There are 6 golf courses within 10 miles (15 courses with 20 miles). Area activities include the soon to be opened Gun Lake casino, fishing, swimming, boating/water skiing, hiking, hunting, mountain biking (Yankee Springs & Fort Custer), snowmobiling and downhill skiing (Timber Ridge and Bittersweet Ski Resorts are within 15 miles). The Village of Delton is walking distance from the cottage for easy access to restaurants, cocktail lounges (Tujax and Pete's), ice cream parlors, pizzeria's (Sajo's), a full-service grocery store and a Shell station. Its also an easy 30-minute drive to downtown Kalamazoo or 45 minutes to Grand Rapids or Lake Michigan.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Pet Fee $100
Refundable Damage Deposit $300

2016 Rates
Peak Season (Memorial Day to Labor Day)

$2400/week
$3000/week for the 4th of July
(Plus taxes and $150 cleaning fee)

Offseason (Before Memorial Day/After Labor Day)

$750/weekend or 3-nights, $1200/week
$1200/weekend Christmas or New Years
(Plus taxes and $150 cleaning fee)

- Pets may be permitted with added cleaning charge of $100.00;
- Pontoon rental available for $1000/week plus taxes
- Weekly rentals are from Saturday to Saturday
- Check-in is anytime after 5pm and checkout is 10am
- Non-refundable 50% advanced rent payment is required, balance due 60-days before stay
- Up to 14 guests maximum

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.