Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Tropical Texas Paradise

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VacationRentals.com checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Feb 19, 2017
  • Sleeps 7
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom, 1 Half Bath
  • Pets considered
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, 7 Sleeps

This beautiful beach house is steps away from the beach. Jamaica beach is one of the nicest, cleanest and safest beach areas just one block from Jamaica police and only 10 miles from 61st and Seawall on the West end of the Island. House is fully stocked, comes with Tv's, WiFi with 5G High Speed Internet , 2 Covered decks facing the beach, a charcoal grill, picnic table, outdoor shower, and Great views from every direction!

Recent Review

About the Owner

Lisa Smith
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 19, 2017

About Lisa Smith

Kevin and Elsa (Lisa) are the proud parents of Steven, Kevin Jay and Henry. In 2007 Kevin built 3 beach houses to help fund the kids education. If you have kids, you understand that we could not make one house nicer, bigger or better than the other. We now have 3 houses exactly alike, same furnishings, floor plan and similar decor. The only real difference is the color.

Lisa Smith purchased this house in 2007

Why Lisa Smith chose Galveston

One, two, or all three of these houses are perfect for family reunions, weddings and other family gatherings. They are perfect for events where you want to be with family but still want the luxury of going to your own private home whenever you want. House is fully furnished, kitchen is stocked with just about everything you could need, beds all have clean linens and underneath the house you will find a picnic table, a charcoal grill and a covered outdoor shower.

What makes this house unique

We are approximately 250 - 300 feet from the beach depending on which house you take. We are about 1/2 a block from Nate's Steak house, there's a Chevron gas station and grocery store next door. We are also across the street from the Jamaica Beach RV Park which has a public swimming pool, arcade and 18 hole miniature golf course that stays open late during summer. Its a quiet, family oriented clean and safe beach neighborhood. The beach stays pretty clean and the water goes out for yards before it gets beyond 5 feet in depth. There's lots of great fishing, sunbathing, and just plain fun in the sun.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Lisa,

As usual, our stay was awesome! It's our very own home away from home.

Thank you for the opportunity to spend time there.



Thanks again.

Heather
May 2016
  • 1 of 2

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Lisa,

As usual, our stay was awesome! It's our very own home away from home.

Thank you for the opportunity to spend time there.



Thanks again.

Heather
May 2016
  • 1 of 2

5 Reviews

3.8/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

4

Great Location

  • 4 of 5
Verified Stay

Beach house was in a great location with nice ocean views and short walk to the water. Plenty of space for 5 (including 2 teenagers). Short easy drive to Galveston strip where there is LOTS to do and MANY great restaurants. Nice to have laundry available for towels etc.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
3

Nice getaway in Jamaica Beach and pet friendly!

  • 3 of 5
Verified Stay

Friendly owner, and good communication. Beach house was nice, and it was clean. It was next to a public beach road on the gulf side and is a very close walk to the beach. The house needed a few updates and a few small repairs, but the owner said that was going to be done soon. They do require a $60 damage ins. policy when you rent, but that wasn't a big deal. My deposit was refunded within the required time frame. Nice place to stay with a family of 4 and two small dogs. There is a nice restaurant - Nate's that is very close by, within walking distance. Also, has a gas station close, and a food store and few other places to eat.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Tenants, just f.y.i. I advertise on several websites and most do require the insurance fee. It can range from $45 to as much as $150 if you feel you're going to need that much coverage. I personally only require the deposit of two hundred dollars whether you stay for 1 weekend or a whole week. Some websites also require a processing fee that I don't see on my side so, for future reference just know that you can call me direct to book your stay or take care of everything on your side but pay a little bit more. Thanks
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
katy tx
5

Excellent Location

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed in Henrys Hideout. We had a great time. These beach houses are in a perfect location. Just steps away to the beach, no roads to cross. There is a very good restaurant/bar (Nates) and small grocery store within walking distance (literally next door) to the beach houses. We did not have to drive anywhere. Everything you need is within walking distance. The beach house itself is beautifully decorated and has been updated with new furniture. They also have a large deck off the living area and off the master bedroom. Another plus is the showers with warm water on the ground level, so you can rinse off the sand before going in the beachhouse. We will definitely will come back. Thank you so much!!

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
dallas, tx
2

Not a very good experience

  • 2 of 5

The location is very good, right off the private beach. That was probably the only good thing about it.

All of the sleeping arrangements needed to be replaces long time ago. It would be more comfortable just to sleep on the floor.

Not enough bath towels, and they are very old. Refrigerator did not work. They claim a tv in every room, yes there is one in every room, but only one of them works. Claimed to have a wifi, it was none. Even for the money we paid for off season, next time I would pay a little more but get a nicer place to stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Renters, if you encounter an issue PLEASE, let us know when you arrive, not after you leave. This is our livelyhood and we strive to always provide the best possible service to all of our clients. We have other houses and in most cases can move you to another unless you refuse to move. Unfortunately we were not given the opportunity to remedy this situation immediately. We now have a brand new queen futon to replace sleeper sofa as a place to sleep. Sleeper sofa had a missing screw that made it difficult to take bed out. We also have all new matresses on all beds even though previous mattresses were not old, pillows are replaced quarterly, bedding is replaced as needed. House sleeps 7 (2 in master, 3 in kids room and 2 in futon). If you bring more than 7, some may have to sleep on floor. We bought a new refrigerator, Wifi router just needed to be rebooted ( BELKIN Router is in kids room)I'm and not sure which television was "not working". All have been checked and all work fine. Perhaps wrong remote was being used. Please Note that our Agreement indicates: Bring your own towels, food, toiletries etc. As most Rental homes and Hotels, due to an issue with theft we only keep 4 towels in each house, no food and only 1 roll of toilet paper per bathroom. We are dissappointed with this review but have corrected legitimate issues, appreciate and thank our guest for their stay and hope to see them back.
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0
the woodlands tx
5

Great View, Great Time, Great Staff.

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a GREAT time in the BLUE house. We have 2 kids (2 and 9) and the two of us. There were some VERY minor things going worng with the house but I called Lisa because the coffee maker wouldnt work. She was there with in the hour with a coffee maker and a staff to fix everything else. Nice people! Great house with two HUGE decks faving the beach and NOTHING blocking your view. The beach was clean and the water was even clear. I will be staying here every summer with my family. We had such a great time.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tenant was very nice and gracious when she called to inform that coffee maker was not working. Need less to say, when I heard "No Coffee Maker" I was mortified. I immediately went to store, purchased a new coffee pot, brought it to tenant and grabbed my handy man on the way. (Actually she's a handy-lady) Issues were resolved while tenant and family played on the beach and everyone was happy! Thanks for the opportunity to make things right - immediately!
Did you find this review helpful?
13 0

Location

From the Owner

One, two, or all three of these houses are perfect for family reunions, weddings and other family gatherings. They are perfect for events where you want to be with family but still want the luxury of going to your own private home whenever you want. House is fully furnished, kitchen is stocked with just about everything you could need, beds all have clean linens and underneath the house you will find a picnic table, a charcoal grill and a covered outdoor shower.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Hobby Airport at 45 Miles Nearest Barpub : Nates Steak house or Woodys at 1 Miles Nearest Ferry : Bolivar at 20 Miles Nearest Golf : Jamaica Beach RV miniature golf at 100 Metres Nearest Motorway : I45 at 11 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Nates Steakhouse at 1 Miles Nearest Beach : Jamaica Beach Car: necessary

Sun bathing

Fishing

Swimming

5 miles from Schlitterbaughn Indoor/Outdoor Water Park

6 miles from Moody Gardens

10 miles from 61st and Seawall and

15 miles from The Strand antique shops, restaurants, souvenir stores, live music, Museum and Cruise Terminal

Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Nightly Rate
Mar 13 2017 - Mar 13 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$295
Fri,Sat,Sun
$975
$3,600
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$295
Fri,Sat,Sun
$975
$3,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Cleaning fee $100 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 15.0%

Spring Break, 4th of July, and Memorial Day only rent by the week. The damage protection fee is optional but the security deposit is mandatory and is 100% refundable after you leave provided there are no damages. We are pet friendly with a pet fee, further details provided on agreement. I accept all forms of credit and debit cards, large bank checks and money orders. Standard check in is at 3pm and Check-out time is 11:00, late check-out may be allowed based on availability, unauthorized pets or late check-out will result in loss of deposit refund. All Holiday check-out time is 8 pm if you are checking out on the holiday such as Mothers Day, Father's Day, Memorial Day etc. (Pet fee only applies if you bring a pet - no more than 2 pets allowed and due to house size, no large breeds please)
* You can process your rental payment thru this website or you can call us direct on cell or office phone numbers. If we process your payment, we will email your receipt, contract, confirmation and balance due. Please call or email at least one week before you arrive for access code to get into house.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Contact Me Email Owner
Updated: Feb 19, 2017
12
Available arrival
12
Available stay (no arrival)
12
Unavailable

Amenities

From the Owner

We are approximately 250 - 300 feet from the beach depending on which house you take. We are about 1/2 a block from Nate's Steak house, there's a Chevron gas station and grocery store next door. We are also across the street from the Jamaica Beach RV Park which has a public swimming pool, arcade and 18 hole miniature golf course that stays open late during summer. Its a quiet, family oriented clean and safe beach neighborhood. The beach stays pretty clean and the water goes out for yards before it gets beyond 5 feet in depth. There's lots of great fishing, sunbathing, and just plain fun in the sun.

Property Type

  • house

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront

Attractions

  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • groceries

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Floor Area

  • 1500 sq. ft.

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1
  • Half Bathroom

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double, 1 twin/ single, Built in bunk beds in kids room
  • Televisions in every room and living room.

Notes:

  • TV's in every room (Bring VHS Tapes for Kids Room) Washer/Dryer Picnic Table Next door to Nate's Restaurant, Chevron Gas station, Seven Seas Grocery store & Miniature golf course at Jamaica Beach RV Park.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car