check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Vacation Rental Comfort Texas, where the stars are big and bright

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Sep 30, 2016
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Baths, 4 Sleeps

Get away from it all while only being 4 miles from award winning wineries. Located on 11 secluded hill top acres with fantastic views. Juniper, oak, cherry, madrone trees and wildlife. The stars are big and bright in Comfort, Texas. Comfort has a great historical downtown area that includes restaurants, wine tastings and plenty of unique shops. Our cabin is located at one of the highest points in the county and overlooks the Guadalupe river valley and the lights of Comfort approx. 9 miles away. Our Eco-friendly home is a historical designed 'Dog Run'. Fashioned after my families original homestead built in 1856. This low impact structure features a rain harvesting system, recycled bottled glass for insulation, locally sourced building materials, grey water recycling system and a grid tie wind/solar power system that generates over a kilowatt of power. Pick fresh vegetables from the garden and coming soon, old fashion root cellar. Get ComfortAble!

Check out my other vacation rental in Fredericksburg #4081602, Sorry no hunting, guns, 4 wheelers or off road vehicles.

More Details
  • Sleeps 4
  • 1 Bedroom
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Owner

I'm a retired office designer. I have been renting my homes since 2005. I offer car, truck and motorcycle rentals to movie, video, print media and site selection services. I will have 5 vacation rentals available soon. Please let me know if I can do anything to make your stay the best.

Call Owner
Speaks: english

38 Reviews

4.8
based on 38 traveler reviews

5

Peaceful Setting with Amazing Views

  • 5 of 5

This cabin is absolutely adorable. It feels like an old country cabin but is new and has all the modern conveniences, even an air conditioner in the master bedroom. The views are spectacular and the roads around the mountain provided plenty of exercise to run with my dog. The owner's were very conscientious in calling to make sure everything was okay. I spent most of my time in the breezeway relaxing and taking in the rolling countryside views. The place is decorated in a way that captures the spirit of days gone by....bird feeders in the trees...plenty of outdoor areas to just relax and take in the natural surroundings...Loved my time at this cabin. Thanks for sharing this special place!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks you for visiting and please come back soon, Thks Rick
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Manhattan, KS
4

Peace and Quiet

  • 4 of 5

Overall we were happy with the seclusion and peacefulness of the cabin. The view is spectacular. We enjoyed seeing the wild life and exploring the property. The owners were wonderful about getting back with us quickly. The place was clean. The cabin is a good 8 miles from the main road. So make sure you have what you need to avoid multiple trips. The only couple of things we were not expecting was there is no a/c and the ants. There is a swamp cooler, but it did not cool the cabin down. Sleeping was tough with the heat. We did open the windows since it was cooler outside than in. That helped. The other was the many ants throughout the kitchen and bedroom. We even kept our dogs dry food in the fridge. It is a great place to bring a dog. We didn't have to worry about him getting out. If it could have been cooler, and I had ant spray with me, it would've been perfect. Definitely worth going to, especially during cooler months.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi sorry about the ants. We only use baits and natural pesticides and don't like to use poisons. But we want our guest happy so might change what we do. However, our AC is not a swamp cooler. It was working fine and cooling down to 73 degrees when we readied it for your stay. Wish you would have let me know, I would have sent my tech to fix it with an hour or two. We hate to here these things and care for our guest. As it turned out when we went in to clean we found that it wasn't cooling. Our tech recharged the unit with Freon and it chilled down to 70 degrees within minutes. However the next week it stop cooling again. So we have replaced it with a brand new unit. So please give us another try and we'll keep you nice and cool next time. Thank you for your business, Rick and Becke.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved the layout of the property

  • 5 of 5

I LOVED this cabin! The views of the hill country are phenomenal , the stars at night were absolutely mezmorizing. This cabin is so unique yet configured in such a way that no matter what part of the cabin you are in the view is never obstructed. The bed was very comfortable, the water pressure in the shower was great, most cabins you get a 'trickle' this one had a nice sized shower head , plenty of really hot water . The fully equipped kitchen was a plus 👍🏼

We saw a variety of brightly colored birds non stop , a wild turkey and a very loving and friendly cat would come by visit briefly . This cabin was very peaceful and stress relieving . I especially liked being gated in for privacy and safety reasons. I loved this cabin so much I posted it on social media and everyone was impressed, the pictures on the website do not do it justice , I will definitely be a return visitor and suggest it to all with no hesitation or reservations .

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. Hope to see you again soon, the hill will be waiting, thanks Rick and Becke
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

Great property! Secluded, great views, and house is very clean and cozy! Wonderful paths to walk and explore! I will definitely go back!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Girls Weekend

  • 5 of 5

Every year my two best friends and I plan a girls weekend. This year we decided to go to nature. This cabin surpassed all of our expectations. The kitchen was stocked with donation food left from other guests, pots and pans, and all of the kitchen utensils once could ask for. Even though we had storms during our stay, we made the most of it and played cards in the kitchen.During our stay we ventured to Fredericksburg where we took the 290 wine tour shuttle to the listed vineyards. All in all, we had a lovely stay and the views are phenomenal. I would love to come back for another stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Nice Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful secluded spot for two adults and our two mutts. Nice to escape the hustle of the city and into nature.

We enjoyed the privacy and the freedom to explore the property with the dogs. Thank you for sharing your property with us, would definitely recommend.

  • Submitted: May 6, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

From the Owner

Please check my reviews, they tell the story.

Activity and Interests

0 miles-Solitude, Nature, Vistas, Peace.

2 miles-Singing Waters Vineyard and Winery, live music 2nd. Saturday.

4 miles-Bending Branch Vineyard and Winery.

5 miles-Comfort Air Park, 1950 ft. grass runway, vehicle rental, reservation req.

6 miles-The Terrace Grill, fine dining. reservations req.

7 miles-Guadalupe River. River runner service and fishing guide available.

9 miles-Comfort Texas, shopping, dining, live music and historical sites.

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$139
Fri,Sat
$750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Refundable damage deposit $150
Cleaning Fee $50

Note that we have a 2 night min. stay and 3 nights around holidays. Thank you.
Nightly Rate: $125
Weekly Rate: $693




Standard rate: $125 per night, double occupancy. Includes fresh fruit and coffee. $35 per person per night for additional guest, 4 persons Max occupancy. Pets fee is $25 total. Max. 2 pets. Please clean up and put pet waste in trash can out by the water tank. Paid guest only. No children under age 9.
Free Internet.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Contact Me Email Owner
Updated: Sep 30, 2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available stay (no arrival)
12
Unavailable

Amenities

Property Type

  • cabin

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove ...

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books ...
  • Television ...

Suitability

  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets considered ...
  • smoking allowed ...

Location Type

  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Village

Attractions

  • winery tours

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • scenic drives
  • walking

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • water tubing

Floor Area

  • 600 sq. ft.

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1
  • Shower

Bedrooms

  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double, Loft

Outside

  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...

Meals

  • Catering available

Notes:

  • 3 room cabin, kitchen and dining on one side / bedroom, sitting area and bath on the other side / loft upstairs. Air conditioner/Heat Pump. Wood stove. Breezeway and large patio. Queen size bed downstairs. Full size bed in sleeping loft (ladder to loft, 250 lb limit). Linen furnished for beds and bath (High thread ct. sheets). Digital TV with 19 stations , radio, stereo/CD player with IPOD speaker cord, phone and cell phone service. Free Internet/Wi-Fi. Kitchen has modern fridge, cook stove, oven, micro-wave, filtered water. Fresh fruit and coffee included. Shopping services available for a fee. Dishes, pots and pans, paper towels, soap (furnished). On demand Hot water. Lot's of outdoor living space with seating.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car