Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, 8 Sleeps
About Gina McFadden
I have been coming "Up North" my whole life. As a child I played on the sandy beaches of Lake Michigan, climbed the dunes, and splashed in the rivers and lakes that grace the area. As an adult, I now watch my two girls enjoy the same magical experiences of my childhood. I manage two properties in the area - one on Platte Lake and one on Good Harbor. My passion is to help you and your family/friends enjoy the stunning beauty that is Northern Michigan.
Gina McFadden purchased this Cottage in 1967
Why Gina McFadden chose Honor
- all-sports Platte Lake - cottage is at the end of the cul de sac - private & spacious grassy yard - sandy beach with 100 feet of private frontage - shallow entry into the lake for safe & fun kid play
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Great quiet location and charming cottage! We loved being on the lake during the day and using the fire pit in the evening. It was just what our family needed! And thank you Gina for always responding quickly to my questions!
Best vacation cottage
Truly a slice of heaven.
My family really enjoyed the Tocco cottage.
The cottage was amazing. Everything we needed was there,the beds were very comfortable.
The location is perfect. The beach and lake were wonderful,we kayaked the lake and river.
Just a perfect vacation cottage
Really enjoyed our stay at this cottage. Very clean, comfortable and private. Gina was available for any questions and made the rental process a breeze! Would not hesitate to rent again.
Overall - very nice place to stay
Great house and great location. Very clean, and close to everything. It was perfect size for our stay - 4 adults, 1 toddler, and 1 newborn. Had a great deck and backyard for our son to play in. All the beds were comfortable, and having towels/linens available was a nice convenience.
The only "issue" we had was that the beach had a good amount of weeds, and the first 5-10 feet when walking into the water was very muddy. You sank up to your ankles when walking in.
Thanks for your thoughtful review, Joshua. Glad you and your family enjoyed your time at Tocco's Catch! I will have my lawn team take a look at the beach area.
Quiet prime location on Platte Lake at end of gravel drive!!
This was our third year at Tocco's catch and we will be booking again next year!! Best rental location on the lake and all new beds this year was a pleasant surprise. Canoe from the house to Lake Michigan with canoes provided on the property.
So glad you enjoyed your time at Tocco's Catch, Josh! We love welcoming your family back each summer. See you in 2019!
Not well kept. Very disappointed. Should not be rented.
Cluttered, not clean. No towels till we found them in the dryer on Monday. Rugs in bathrooms dirty. Sheets on lower bunks used, we washed them. Sticky kitchen floor. Dirty carpet, we all had black feet. Mattress on queen bed should be replaced. Fans are filthy. 4-slice toaster only works for 2 slices. Seems to be a family retreat that no one takes care of, just rents.
We had to ignore so much negativity as we were tied to this rental with no alternative, We traveled 500 miles expecting a nice place to stay. Can't imagine VRBO advertising this place posting POSITIVE reviews.
Thank you for your feedback. My apologies that you were unsatisfied with your stay.
We received a 5 star rating from the guests that stayed the week before you. There seems to have been an issue with our cleaning crew this week and I will be communicating your complaints with them and fixing the problem. Had you let me know these issues sooner (I am reading this two weeks after your check-out), I would have sent my cleaning team over to address the situation right away. I reached out to you the morning you arrived to see how things were going, but never heard back. Most of your issues could have been solved the day you checked in.
As for the queen mattress, it has since been replaced with a new, 12" memory foam mattress. As for the toaster, my apologies that only two of the four openings are working.
Once again, thank you for your helpful feedback and my apologies for the issues you faced during your stay.
UPDATE: This renter attempted to get a refund from American Express. I sent the company all of our correspondence. They ruled in my favor.
I ALWAYS reach out to my renters on the day they check in, just as I did with this renter, to make sure everything is to their satisfaction. Several times over the past 10 years of running this rental property I have sent out a cleaner to address issues that renters have had with the property. I don’t stop until they are satisfied. I would have done the same for this renter had she only communicated with me. Also, there have been several instances where I have made a partial refund in order to make amends for things not being up to the standards of the renters. I undoubtedly would have done this for this renter if she had only communicated her dissatisfaction in time for me to have done anything about it.
Best walleye fishing spot on Platte Lake is located just off the end of the dock! Short distance to Lake Michigan beaches and Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park. Good Morning America recently named Sleeping Bear Dunes, Michigan 'The Most Beautiful Place in America'!