Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sleeps 12 - Great Swimming For All Ages - Gun Lake Area

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,388 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 12

4 bedrooms, 2 baths cottage - can sleep up to 12. Huge well-built aluminum dock to accommodate several boats and jet skis. Sliding doors of the master bedroom that walks out to the front deck. One of the nicest spots on the lake (Barlow Lake; all sports lake 187 acres).

Cottage is located in beautiful Yankee Springs Township on Barlow Lake, a private lake 30 minutes South of Grand Rapids and 20 minutes North of Kalamazoo.

Barlow Lake is a quiet, spring-fed, 187 acre lake adjacent to Gun Lake that is perfect for fishing and all water sports. The lake is labeled as the second cleanest lake in the Lower Peninsula. Sandy beaches and a sandy lake bottom make this cottage an enjoyable place to spend time with the kids or grandkids. This cottage sleeps 12 comfortably.

Enjoy a peaceful, quiet week of fishing or canoeing or lounging on the shore. This lake is great for all sports and less crowded than any of the public lakes in the area. Located on a quiet road, with parking for 4 vehicles, this cottage is perfect for the family that wants to spend a week on the water, or for the couple that desires a week away from the bustle of the city.

Large, fully equipped and functional kitchen with:

- Dishwasher

- Drip Coffee Maker & K-cup Coffee Maker

- Microwave

- Stove /Oven

- Refrigerator

All utensils, appliances and furniture provided in the cottage.

- Washer and Dryer

- A/C

Spacious and comfortable Living Room that overlooks the lake with:

- TV with a DVD player

4 bedrooms - 3 queen beds, 2 bunk beds (4) twin beds, and queen mattress – pull out couch.

2 bathrooms – 1st shower/tub and 2nd shower stall

Deck off the entire back of the cottage.

- Deck furniture

- Gas grill

Rental Period is Sat - Sat

More Details

Owner
Hannah Trivette
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 21, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

You have a great place! We really enjoyed it! Enjoyed your neighbors too.



When will you open your calendar for next year?



Thanks again

Gina
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Middleville Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1388 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Ski-In
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Sliding door access to deck.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 4 twin/ single , 2 Sets of Bunk Beds
    Living Room - 1 queen , Pull Out Couch - Queen Mattress
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Large, fully equipped and functional kitchen with: - Dishwasher - Microwave - Stove /Oven - Large Refrigerator. All utensils, appliances and furniture provided in the cottage. Washer and Dryer Spacious and comfortable Living Room that overlooks the lake with - TV with a DVD player 4 bedrooms - 3 queen beds, 2 bunk beds (4) twin beds, and queen mattress – pull out couch. 2 bathrooms – 1st shower/tub and 2nd shower stall 500 . ft. deck off the entire back of the cottage. - Deck furniture - Gas grill

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Sleeps 12 - Great Swimming For All Ages - Gun Lake Area
average rating of 4.5 based on 9 reviews
5

Great time away with family

  • 5 of 5

We had such wonderful week at this cottage. We could not have asked for better weather. I was a bit bummed that the sand area I had read about in the reviews was no longer there as my youngest daughter would have had so much fun playing in that during the week. We made due and made our own little sand box with a small plastic pool and beach sand we purchased. This occupied her for hours on most days. The water was nice and clear on most days and the temperature was perfect. We were in and out of the water all day every day! The cottage was nice and homie and accommodated us well. We lost power on our last full day out there. The neighbors were very friendly and didn't hesitate to offer us help. We were even offered the chance to plug a coffee pot in for our morning coffee and later in the day plug the fridge in for a bit so we wouldn't lose all the food we had stored in it. I am hoping we will have the chance to stay here again next summer. The owner was very helpful and great to work with during our reservations and stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review us. We greatly appreciate and are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the lake. We had to remove the sand box because we got a bad storm last year and the sand box became part of the lake. That is a fantastic idea about the pool sand box and will add that to our amenities. I’m sorry the power went out while you were at the cottage. Our neighbors are great and I am very happy to hear you still were able to have your morning coffee. We would love to have you back and hope to see you next summer. As always if you think of anything else that could improve your stay next year don’t hesitate to let me know. We are here help.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Place to Get Away From It All.

  • 5 of 5

Kids loved swimming in the lake, jumping off the platform, and playing in the sandbox. The sandbox was perfect for my 2 year old. Even my 7 & 1o year old played in the sandbox. The water right by the sandbox was perfect for little ones and the bigger kids could play farther down and swim to the platform. Between the sand box and splashing in the water it kept her entertained for hours and all I had to do was sit and watch. Talk about a relaxing vacation.

The guys went fishing in the morning and we take the kids out tubing in the afternoon. Not many other boats out at all. Grill in evening and sit on the patio and watch the stars. My favorite thing was having my cup of coffee out on the deck first thing in the morning. Breathtaking. Place was clean. Bed was comfy. Can’t think of one thing I would change. Coming back next summer.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable time. Hope to have you again next season.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

A great place to relax and enjoy the lake.

  • 4 of 5

The property is very clean and well equipped. We really enjoyed the vacation and the private lake ensured that there was not an unruly crowd on the lake. It was great to go boating and we enjoyed the water. The evening was also great thanks to satellite TV that is provided. This is a great home away from home. Looking forward to our return visit next summer.

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable time. Look forward to having you again next season.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Memorial Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our family loved waking up to the beautiful lake view, the convenience for fishing, the sandy play area for the younger children, and the peaceful surroundings. Thank you for providing the books and games in the lake house, along with the satellite TV/DVDs. They made the one rainy day we had so nice. Kudos to you on the plentiful variety of kitchenware and utensils for our use.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable time. Hope to have you again next season.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family Friendly

  • 5 of 5

The cottage met our expectations & and had all of the comforts of home. A fully stocked kitchen was beneficial. The floors, kitchen, and bathroom were all very clean. The beds were nice & comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed the lake view from the deck & patio. Our teenagers through elementary age children had a fun time. We even caught a huge Soft-Shell turtle before releasing it back into the lake! Would rent from this owner again.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable time. Hope to have you again next season.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hudsonville MI
3

Nice swimming but...

  • 3 of 5

We were a group of 12 with 5 kids ranging from 1 year old to 10. We had a good time at the cottage for our week! But as with most places, there are pros and cons:

PRO: The swimming was excellent, water was mostly clear with only a few weeds. The kids had a nice time swimming off the dock.

CON: The fishing was not so great, but we did catch a handful of decent bass and one nice pike

CON: tiny bedrooms--all but the master bedroom were very small, with no room to walk around the beds or place suitcases

CON: no campfires allowed at the cottage

The owners were usually prompt to answer questions, but were very strict about inspecting their property after our visit. We ended up losing our security deposit due to what we considered normal use of the property and/or pre-existing conditions.

Would we go back? To the lake YES, to this cottage NO.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2014
  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad to hear the swimming was enjoyable for the kids, and cleanliness of the lake water. We are pleased to hear our goal of responding to questions/concerns in a timely matter was fulfilled. Based on your feedback, we have made some improvements. We now provide luggage racks for suitcases, and a list of several good fishing spots with rental confirmations. We had a brick paver fire pit built near the lake for our guest's use for camp fires. As with most rental properties, a security deposit is required to insure care is taken with the rental property and contents. Charges are only assessed to a renter to cover any damages that occurs during their stay, or to cover excessive cleaning. 90% of our renters receive their security deposit back in full. Again, thank you for your feedback. We are always trying to improve the vacation experience for our renters.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Map

Barlow Lake is a private All-Sports lake located in the heart of Yankee Springs, adjacent to the more popular Gun Lake. It is great for fishing, jet skiing, wakeboarding and more. Barry State Game Area is like being 'up north' without the long drive.

- Gun Lake Casio

- Miniature Golf

- Petting Farm

- Hiking

- Biking

- Nature Walks

- Bird Watching

- Fishing

- Hunting

- Horseback Riding

- Pontoon Boat and Jet Ski Rental from Matteson's Marine or Gun Lake Rentals

Historic Bowen Mills, a fully functional 1800's mill that produces apple cider, is located on the East shore of lake. Hiking trails, horseback riding, and golf courses are all within a few miles of the lake. Fine and Casual dining are all close by. Car lovers will also enjoy the Gilmor Car Museum located a short drive away.

You’ll enjoy the area restaurants, antique and gift shops, farm markets, orchards, garage sales. A favorite activity is the fall color tour drive through the countryside. Allegan County Fairgrounds is the host to monthly antique shows from May through September. Other day trips may include Museums, Zoo, Festivals, and Shopping Malls in Grand Rapids, Holland, Allegan, Saugatuck, and Kalamazoo- all within an hour or less drive.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250

Checkin: 3:00 PM Checkout: 10:00 AM Pets & Smoking is Strictly Forbidden. We sincerely appreciate your consideration for the next customer who rents the cottage. To this end, if the cottage smells of smoke or pets are in the cottage, the renter will be assessed an additional charge This is in place to ultimately benefit all renters. Every renter deserves a clean & fresh smelling cottage.

1/2 of reservation is due at time of booking. Rental balance, cleaning, & security deposit is due 30 days prior to rental period. WEEKLY RENTAL ONLY $1500 for the week and $250 security deposit. Security deposit is fully refunded after your departure from the cottage, if the cottage is in acceptable condition.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.