Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon

Casa Abhayaa, a quiet retreat

Bedrooms 2
Property type house


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 4 Sleeps

Casa Abhayaa is ideally-located in Merida Centro Historico, less than a minute walk to the beautiful 17th century church, La Ermita de Santa Isabel, and only five minutes from San Sebastian, another of Mérida's fabulous churches. The house is convenient to Mérida’s central square, the airport, and all autoroutes.

Casa Abhayaa is a comfortable 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom home with high ceilings, gracefully-arched doors, and lots of light. Its construction and furnishings tastefully employ traditional colonial materials such as wrought iron, concrete pasta tiles, polished concrete floors, and wood. The living room opens onto a charming private courtyard with plunge pool, and areas for eating and lounging, surrounded by plants and fruit trees. The spacious kitchen contains all modern appliances and incorporates a large dining table for six. The guest bedroom with twin beds, and a full bathroom complete the lower level.

The entire upper level is devoted to the sumptuous master bedroom suite, including a king bed, massive custom wardrobe, desk, full ensuite bathroom, balcony overlooking the courtyard, and a generous rooftop deck, for cool evening cocktails, or daytime sunbathing.

Casa Abhayaa is equipped with high-speed internet, WiFi, cable television, audio system for CD/iPod/iPhone/FM/AM, air conditioning in the bedrooms, and a pressurized, softened, and purified water system.

Casa Abhayaa is unfortunately not suitable for children under 12 years of age.

No pets, please.

More Details

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 13, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a truly delightful experience staying at Casa Abhayaa. It is located in between two churches so we could hear the singing on Sunday morning.

It is a friendly neighbourhood with roosters, cats, dogs and occasionally the guitar serenades right in the historical part of the city.

The house is so lovely, elegant and well maintain.

This was our first visit in Merida and we will definitely return and rent the same place.
Jan 2015
  • 1 of 1


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)


A little gem....

  • 5 of 5

Casa Abhayaa is perfectly located. Walking distance from everything. The courtyard is enchanting. The house itself is tastefully decorated and well appointed. It is the perfect place to retreat and recharge.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

No need unmet!

  • 5 of 5

This was the perfect spot for our party of, comfortable and great for entertaining... we walked most places and cabs were plentiful...the manager was excellent and facilitated everything from a local chef to a car with tour guide... I would highly recommend this rental!

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Vancouver BC Canada


  • 5 of 5

Both the amenities and the aesthetics of this house are exactly as described, and perfect for our group of 3 adults. It's private, cool, calm, and very comfortable!! The local manager is a great resource, immediately responsive on even the smallest question. Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A place of serenity in midst of bussling Merida

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Abhayaa.

The home's high ceilings, cool colors, and spare decor invite feelings of tranquility and reflection. The spacious kitchen is great for preparing and eating meals. The attractive living room opens onto a patio oasis of tropical vegetation (in fact, lemons from the tree out back went into our margaritas!). A small sitting pool and lawn chairs invite you to outdoor time.

I really love the open stairs that ascend to the master bedroom, with a very comfortable bed and open-air patios on either side. The shower is a gem of design -- standing on the bathing stone, looking at the sky through the window, I felt happily spoiled.

Calle 77 is busy and noisy but after a night we got used to the city sounds. We were delighted two mornings to hear a wandering trumpeter work his way down the street. From Casa Abhayaa it's about a mile to the central cathedral and plaza -- an easy walk (taxis are plentiful as well).

Merida is a cultural gem, a vibrant city surrounded by historical treasures. We enjoyed our trip in large part because we had a nice home to go to.

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
College Station

Central but soothing

  • 5 of 5

My niece and I spent a magical week in La Ermita just before Christmas, 2014. We are walkers, so its central location for exploring the parks of Mérida, and shopping at the markets during the day was perfect. Wandering randomly after dinner in Centro to enjoy the holiday lights on people's homes was charming and we always found new routes home, since La Ermita is a center of activity. Breakfast we purchased from the ladies at the breadshop on the corner, on the mornings we didn't enjoy fruit from the market in the garden. There was always a fresh lime or orange on the trees to squeeze on the papaya. A small corner store supplemented anything we might have forgotten, or that Andrea had not provided for us on arrival. Two doors down towards San Sebastian a friendly couple supplied ice-cold beers from their front room for watching the sun set from the roof.

Previous guests have observed that the internet connection was intermittent. We found that also, but that for our few e-mail needs, late evening to early morning was always reliable. I should add, that even in the medium-sized Texas town where I use the internet for work, there are frustrations with service! The furniture was perfectly comfortable for our needs - mostly sitting at the ample kitchen table or on the patio. We never even thought to turn the television on, so can't comment on the adequacy of the sitting room. As far as cleanliness is concerned, we took our cue from our neighbors - they sweep their houses every morning, and clean up leaf litter daily as well. Unless a daily concierge service is part of the rental package, this is part of the ritual of living in the urban tropics with the windows and doors open. I swept daily when I lived in Panamá several years ago - it doesn't take long and is quite soothing.

We probably won't be staying in Casa Abhayaa again, because Andrea is putting the finishing touches to our house, very similar in conception, a few blocks away. But we will always pass it with feelings of affection, and call in at the church before catching a cab in the square and embarking on a journey.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Merida, MX and Winnipeg, Canada

Overrated Property - Problems Persisted

  • 2 of 5

Although a Beautiful Home, lots of problems with the property... For example, gas problems (cannisters were not full upon arrival), so no propane - no Hot Water, plus no water pressure, floors were dirty/black upon our arrival to the point we had to wear flip flops in the house, Pool area was also Black and Slimy, so one had to be careful not to slip. Then, we had persistent Cable Outages... which also affected Internet, and the last 2 weeks without cable. Plus, we had frequent mailings coming to the house with disconnection notices for garbage... plus our electricity was disconnected for an extended period of time... half a day... In addition, the property is right by Ermita Park.... Busy... and on a Bus Route... we had to run the fan/air at night because the street noise was so bad... Bugs in the Back Yard, Mice in the Backyard, then we saw the rats... crawling up the wall... I had to use a shovel on one... The Backyard was full of falling fruit so the rats/mice had a feast... The furniture, although stylish, was very uncomfortable... So, overall... the house is nice... but it was all the little things... and we have lived in Belize for a couple years so we do understand the little things and are pretty flexible... but really not the 4 star experience we were hoping for.... and, a long way to get groceries from Ermita to Centro Mercado... Overall... 2-3 star and disappointing experience... Oh, and upon leaving... we were overcharged for the electricity bill but just wanted out of there.... Terry

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Terry, I was devastated reading your review of my property Casa Abhayaa. Up until now we had only received compliments and rave reviews. While I am away, the property is maintain by Andrea. The grounds, the house, the pool are kept immaculately clean. I am sorry I was not made aware of your troubles until now. And I am surprised you did not communicate with Andrea at the time, since you had met her when you came to assess the house on a previous visit to Merida. Andrea and her team is available to make your visit a delightful one. I have been staying at the house for several weeks every year and I have never encountered mices nor rats. The house is always perfectly cleaned and welcoming. Rest assured that your complaints will be carefully considered. The owner PS: I had a chance to review your comments with Andrea (my property manager). She was totally taken aback and felt "back stabbed" by you. You had been raving to her about the house. Issues that were brought up, at the time of your stay, were dealt with diligently (this is my experience too). I spoke with neighbours about your finding mices and rats in the courtyard. I was told that there has not been any rodents in this neighbourhood for over a century!!! La Ermita is a charming and very safe district of Merida historical center. Neighbours are kind and friendly. Regarding noise level. While one doesn't really hear the traffic, one hears roosters crowing, dogs barking, guitars playing, people singing, children playing in the street; all the sounds of a traditional Mexican town. Casa Abhayaa is walking distance from points of interests. Being on the bus route makes it a breeze to explore the city without the need for a car.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1



Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Weekly Rate: $500 - $1200

Monthly Rate: $1500 - $2500

High Season Oct 1 - Apr 30. $800/wk
Low Season May 1 - Sep 30 $500/wk
Holiday Seasons - Christmas, New Year, Easter $1200/wk
Refundable security deposit required
Electricity not included
Long-term rentals - please inquire

Enter dates for accurate pricing


Centro House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 4
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
Secure, private Fully-equipped kitchen -- refrigerator, gas cooktop and oven, microwave, coffee-maker, blender, toaster, quality china, glassware and cookware Washer/dryer Private courtyard with plunge pool 2 full bathrooms HD flat-screen TV with DVD player Cable TV service High-speed internet and WiFi iPod/USB/CD/FM/AM Sound System Pressurized, purified, softened water system Quality linens Custom-designed iron and wood furnishings Weekly pool and maid service Professional local property manager

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car