Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4 adults
Check-in: 3:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
Minimum age of primary renter:24
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
A Maine gem by the ocean
I had never been to Harpswell before, I and a few friends came for a night and enjoyed the ocean and a sunset in October. Molly was a kind host for providing us ample blankets and a heater in her beautiful home. The sunroom and the porch were our favorites during the stay.
Fantastic Owner - Great Location
If the location and price was not perfect enough, Molly is the perfect host. She is super detailed with a booklet of important need-to-know as well as good-to-know information about the house and the area. She is very responsive to all messages and very easy-going and helpful. This was my girlfriend's 2nd time to Maine (both trips in the same month) and Molly is another great example of the hospitality from people in Maine. The house has all you need. This is definitely more of a summer house but we were just fine with the temperature in the fall.
Perfect for Mom...93yr old.
Couldnt have chosen a better cottage. The first floor bedroom and bathroom was perfectly situated for my elderly Mother. And beautiful for the rest of us too! The windowed porch was lovely for the rainy days and for Mom to sit and read with a vantage point to see all the coming and going along rt 123.
Everything was great with the exception of the wifi. It did not work and reception is a little dicey that far out. Otherwise, it was great.
The home is in a beautiful location. Lovely sunsets.
Beautiful, old home in gorgeous location lacking amenities
The host was helpful and responsive. We enjoyed our stay at the cottage, but it did not live up to our expectations. First off, I do not think a full cleaning fee is justified when we had to make our own beds, strip them, wash all the dishes, and take out our own trash (which is normally the standard, but given that we left on Sunday and the dump is closed Sunday, we did not do this). The beds were old with holey sheets and stained bedspreads/pillows. The carpet is stained in several areas. It was not advertised that the water is not drinkable, and we were not provided water and had to buy/transport it ourselves. As I said, it is a lovely location and the house is a piece of history, but I would not pay for lack of amenities again. I found the VRBO description not comprehensive and somewhat misleading.
Thank you for your helpful feedback. As I get ready for the next season of rentals, I wanted to let you know that I have updated the website description to include information about the fact that the house is on a well and that we do not recommend the water for drinking. Based on your review, we have inspected all sheets and removed the damaged ones from the house. Finally, we will add more photos so that renters can be better informed as to the rustic nature of the cottage. Thank you again.