check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Dewey Beach, Cute Duplex, Ocean Block

Very Good! 4/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Nov 30, 2016
Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths

Renting for the summer on a weekly basis. Cute duplex on the ocean side of Route 1. Weekly rental Friday to Friday. Two bedrooms, two baths, large deck, washer-dryer. The house is two levels with a bedroom/bathroom and deck upstairs, a bedroom/bathroom, living room and kitchen downstairs Kitchen is complete with oven, stove, full sized refrigerator and dishwasher. Unit has two reserved parking spaces next to the house. Upstairs bedroom has a queen bed and two twin beds. Downstairs bedroom has bunks with a full bed and a twin bed. Outdoor shed is available for storing beach stuff. Wireless Internet and satellite TV is included. TVs are in the upstairs bedroom and in the living room.

This home is central in Dewey, near the Starboard, and steps from the beach. House is on a quiet corner of New Orleans street and offers much more space and privacy than any standard hotel or condo.

Rates in May are $1000/week Friday to Friday (plus 3% tax)

Rates during the summer are $1450/week Fri-Fri (plus 3% tax)

Summer starts Memorial Day weekend and ends Labor Day weekend

More Details
  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Speaks: english

8 Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

5

Perfect house for small group in ideal location

  • 5 of 5

This has been our second year spending Memorial Day Weekend at 17B and we love it! For a small group of six mid-20s females, it's the perfect sized house and is walking distance to the best things Dewey has to offer - only steps from Starboard and the beach. J.D. and Tracey are extremely accommodating and make the process of booking the house and the stay so easy. I love having the upstairs porch and the number of beds make it a great space for our group. The fact that the door is a keypad is really convenient - it's like they thought of everything! I definitely recommend this house for you upcoming trip to Dewey; we can't wait to spend another summer on New Orleans!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's good to hear you had such a good time at Dewey and enjoyed the house and it's location!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5

We loved the house and the location is ideal because it is a short walk to the beach. Having a place we can walk to from the beach during the day is convenient. The house was is good condition and the beds were comfortable. We didn't really cook much because of the close proximity of restaurants.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the comments about the house. We hope you will come back to Dewey Beach and consider us as your place to stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Anonymous

  • 2 of 5

This property has so much potential but it is in need of repairs and updating. The house smelled of pet urine the minute we walked in. I had to lite a candle and spray febreeze on the couch and carpets. The bathroom down stairs has two large water stains on the drop ceiling not very appealing to shower there. The floors in both of the bathrooms and kitchen are well worn and need to be replaced. The bathrooms need to be updated. The upstairs bathroom had paint peeling from the ceiling over the shower. There was no shade in the upstairs bathroom over the toilet. The folks from the building across have a direct view into the bathroom. There are rust stains on the floor from the washer which is in the up stairs bathroom. Pots and pans were worn. On the plus side, the house is very close to the beach. The air conditioner (window units) are loud but work well. Never ran out of hot water in the showers. By the way, the down stairs bedroom is very small. The house is comfortable for 4 adults. The outside of the house could also use power washing. The side of house at the upstairs deck level is green with mildew. I do not feel this landlord is taking time to do repairs on the house. There is a review that talks about the back door. It is so warped and the paint is peeling that it really needs to be replaced. The screen door in the back is broken. Looks like from a review in 07/2015 that it has not been fixed. You cannot get into the back outdoor shower because it is over grown. I gave it a fair rating because the house is so close to the beach and it is comfortable. I wish it was more updated.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your feedback on the house. The carpets are being steam cleaned this week, along with a deep clean of the house. We are scheduling our handyman to paint the ceiling and replace the bathroom ceiling tiles and power wash the siding/deck. We are also scheduled to clear away weeds and plant growth, which we have to do a few times during the summer. We were not aware that the curtains in the bathroom are missing. That will be addressed this week. There is a new fence that was erected behind the house because the previous fence was beginning to fall apart. There is not an outdoor shower, and the back door opens to a small area behind the house that doesn't have access to anywhere other than a walkway to the front yard. Which is why that backdoor is never used. We strive for happy tenants and want them to have a good experience - hoping that the photos of the house provide an accurate representation.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Middletown Pa
5

Great Week!

  • 5 of 5

Excellent location, close to beach, great communication with owners. I can't say enough wonderful things about our stay in Dewey at this cute rental. With 3 young kids, the proximity to the beach was ideal. House was clean and fit us perfectly. Thank you JD and Tracey for a great stay!!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Very dissapointed

  • 1 of 5

In general, this house is in need of repairs and the level of cleanliness could be much improved.

The following items need attention:

1. No egress possible from thr rear door due to collapse of wooden fence at rear of property.

2. No access to outdoor shower.3. Rear door screen missing. Front door screen badly torn.

4. 1st floor beds not suitable for adults.5.outdoor storage unusable. (No room to list other comments.)

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The owner appreciates this type of feedback since honest feedback is a good way to improve the accommodations. We encourage anyone to visit the property or view pictures of the house before they decide to stay in Dewey Beach. We are certain the central location of our house in town, our attention to detail with cleanliness and upgrades that we apply every year will guarantee a happy renter. Dog owners are also welcomed.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Great family-oriented location!

  • 5 of 5

This property was the perfect location for our family. It was close to the beach and within walking distance from all the local restaurants, which was important because we had two small children and a dog in tow. The owners were very responsive and answered any questions we had. The house is located in a quiet, residential area with two parking spaces. Very family oriented!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

From the Owner

You don't have to cross Route 1 to get to the beach. An outdoor shed is available for beach stuff (e.g. chairs, umbrellas, wagon). Internet and TV is included.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Barpub : The Starboard at 100 Metres Nearest Ferry : Lewes at 9 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Gary's Dewey Beach Grill at 15 Metres Nearest Beach : Dewey Beach at 500 Metres

The beach is steps away and dog friendly all day in the off season. (Before 9:30 am and after 5:30 pm in summer, dogs must be licensed). Walk to any of Dewey's many bars and restaurants offering great food and live music. In summer, enjoy bonfires on the beach Wednesday nights and movies on Mondays!

Rehoboth Beach is 5 minutes away via The Jolly Trolly and offers many shops, boardwalk, and restaurants. The Jolly Trolly stop is at Route 1 and New Orleans (in front of Gary's Dewey Beach Grill). Search for Town of Dewey Beach and Rehoboth Beach attractions to learn about special weekend events.

Upcoming for fall - Greyhound weekend in Oct, Film Festival in Nov

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
May Week 1
May 1 2017 - May 4 2017
4 night minimum stay
$500
Flat fee
 
 
May Week 2
May 5 2017 - May 11 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
Flat fee
 
 
May Week 3
May 12 2017 - May 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
Flat fee
 
 
May Week 4
May 19 2017 - May 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
Flat fee
 
 
Summer 2017
May 26 2017 - Sep 4 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$1,450
 
 
Sep 2017
Sep 8 2017 - Sep 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
 
 
Fall/Winter 2017
Oct 1 2017 - Apr 30 2018
7 night minimum stay
$850
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,450
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 3.0%

Summer 2016 Booking Weekly beginning:
May 13th - $800
May 20th - $1200
May 27th - $1450
June 3rd - $1450
June 10th - $1450
June 17th - $1450
June 24th - $1450
July 1st - $1450
July 8th - $1450
July 15th - $1450
July 22nd - $1450
July 29th - $1450
Aug 5th - $1450
Aug 12th - $1450
Aug 19th - $1450
Aug 26nd - $1450
Sep 2nd - $1450
Sep 9th - $1000
Sep 16th - $1000
Sep 23rd - $1000

Oct 1 2016 - May 2017 $800/month or $200 per night (2 night minimum)

Summer rates include cable, internet, and cleaning. Rates do not include 3% Dewey Beach rental tax. Fall rates do not include utilities.
Security deposit = $250. Dog fee $60 to cover extra cleaning costs

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Updated: Nov 30, 2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available stay (no arrival)
12
Unavailable

Amenities

Property Type

  • condo

Theme

  • Family

General

  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Internet
  • Parking ...

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Location Type

  • Beach View

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Notes:

  • Nice living space on first floor includes table for 6, corner sofa/sleeper, bedroom with a twin over full bunk, kitchen, & bath with shower. Kitchen has Keurig one cup coffee maker, stove, toaster over, microwave, and blender. Upstairs has queen bed and two twin beds, large deck, washer/dryer, bath with shower. Beach shed includes umbrella, beach chairs, wagon, and cooler. House comes with two parking spaces, WiFi Internet & two TV's - both new flat screens, satellite with DVR, and DVD players. Sleeps 6.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car