Cottage, 1 Bedrooms, 1 Baths, 2 Sleeps
David and Jan Richmond
What makes this Cottage unique
Our local English speaking property manager can help youto find the cottage and get situated. House cleaning, laundry, tour services are additional amenities that can be provided at an extra charge by our local property manager.
Children not allowed
Minimum age of primary renter:21
Remove sand in sink/hose outstide of house, not in shower drain
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
This a five star location but I gave it a 3 star rating because the cottage needs some improvements. I think it is a very fair price for the location.You can walk out to the beach and look for miles in both directions and not see another person. The sunsets are spectacular. It is a rough 5 mile drive but you are definitely in a secluded, beautiful location.
Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear you found the beach as beautiful as we do. And that you felt like the cottage was fairly priced. And thank you for your more detailed personal email in which you listed improvements you would have liked to have.
A "cottage" type stay isn't for everyone. We have always tried to be very clear about our amenities, include plenty of pictures and respond very openly to any inquires before the stay. We personally find the cottage comfortable yet simple and that is what we are aiming for. We don't strive to replicate a boutique type beach hotel and our price reflects that. Also, there are some things that we are limited to improving because of current Costa Rican maritime laws such as your suggestion of adding an outdoor shower .
In your email to us you mentioned that the porch ceiling fan wasn't working properly and I want to mention that as soon as we received your email we had our property manager replace it with a new fan. Had you alerted us while you were there we would have replaced it during your stay.
Where we are only there a few weeks out of the year so things can be perfect when we are there but can deteriorate quickly due to the corrosive salt air. So feedback from our guests is always welcome and important to keeping the cottage as comfortable as we find it when we are there.
On balance, we along with most everyone who has ever stayed, have had great stays and a consider it a great value for for such a beautiful beach. While we do have some amenities that other accommodations in the area don't have such as a/c in the bedroom, and hot water, for guests looking for boutique hotel type amenities we recognize that our cottage is probably is not a great fit.
Jan and David
Secluded beach cottage
If your looking for a secluded beach "Cottage" and basically a secluded beach, this is the place. Nothing fancy but cozy and comfortable. When we were there we saw only a few people on the beach. It felt like we had our own private beach. We lost electricity once and Rolando (the groundskeeper) was right there to make sure we were good. We think the only thing missing was having an ice chest to take down to the beach with the chairs and some kind of bbq to do some outdoor bbq.
Nick and Diana,
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our cottage. We appreciate your comments. We both think your ice chest idea would be a great addition! We are there twice a year, next time we go we will look for one.
You were great guests we hope you will stay again with us, you're welcome back anytime.
David and Jan
We had a wonderful time on our vacation. The cottage was very clean and the property manager was amazing and helped us plan our week. Very relaxing! We will come again!
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are very happy to know you had a wonderful time. We will look forward to having you as our guest again anytime.
Tranquil and Beautiful !
We thoroughly enjoyed the tranquility and peacefulness of this property. The beach was amazing and the sunsets were beautiful ! We saw Scarlet Macaws fly over on two occasions while having morning coffee. We saw lots of Iguana's (mostly black) roaming around the property. They didn't bother with us at all.
The property was very clean and well maintained. Renaldo was amazing and helped us with anything we asked. Aldo was very helpful too.
We did not travel far from the property - no more than 1hr drive and were able to enjoy seeing first hand the many different species of animal living in their natural habitat (monkeys, sloths, wild parrots, kinkajou's and all types of lizards and birds).
We made our own breakfast and would eat at local restaurants on Hwy 34 for dinner. All of them were very good !
We would definitely recommend this property to friends and family. The owners were amazing and provided us with lots of information before we arrived.
For those travelling from San Jose, you need to know that Hwy 27 on Sunday's between 1-7 pm is only a north bound highway. LOL We did not realize this and had to take another route out of San Jose. I'm glad we did because we ended up going through and around the mountains which had absolutely spectacular views !
Thank you for allowing us to stay at your beautiful property.
Great isolated Costa Rica experience
If you are looking for a place to disconnect from the world and enjoy the beach and a cottage this is the place for you. Everything you need in an isolated setting. Such a beautiful place.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay Mike. You are welcome back any time.
A piece of paradise!
What a beautiful and amazing stay! This sweet little bungalow is located on one of the most beautiful and isolated beaches you will ever find. The water is clear and the sand is like velvet. You could not ask for more. The bungalow itself is clean and very pretty. Fresh tropical air flowing thru it is amazing. The sounds of birds singing and the waves crashing is something one can never get enough of. Early mornings & evenings spent on rocking chairs on the back porch were beyond relaxing. The nearest town to the bungalow is Parrita.
Parrita is a charming little town full of kind people and good food. It is also the home to beautiful palm plantations. The property manager, Aldo Molina, is wonderful! He is a local and knows everything any traveler would want to know. He is the only travel planner you will need on this trip. The only negative thing is the air mattress on the bed. I hate to even bring it up because this place is so amazing.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our cottage and the beautiful surrounding beach area. And that you found our property manager Aldo friendly and helpful. Regarding the air mattress, thank you for your input. We understand and believe the Aero mattress has now reached the end of it's life. We have just last week replaced the it with a brand new conventional mattress. We hope you will be able to return sometime soon. You are welcome back any time.
Nearby are rainforest tours, mangrove tours, toucans and monkeys, hiking. Manuel Antonio Park. Mountain excursions with beautiful vistas, waterfalls, fishing.
On site relax on the beach under beach umbrellas. Walk the beach finding sand dollars, sea shells and pods. Photograph beautiful flowers and birds. Let us know what you like to do, we can help you put together an itinerary.