Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Hideaway **Cozy New Home/Cabin Tucked Away in the Mountains**

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 6 Sleeps

NOTE: Due to the steepness (and sometimes bumpiness) of the gravel driveway to the house, you need a four-wheel drive (4WD) vehicle to rent this property. If you desire, you can park your car at the top of the driveway which is ~ 800 feet from the house and walk to the house.

If you are looking for a get away in the middle of the woods with the amenities of a new house, then this is the place for you. Add in a great view and hiking outside your front door, The Hideaway makes for a great stay for anybody looking to get away from the city for awhile and relax. With aerial views of the Blue Ridge Mountains up to 50 miles, you can view multiple mountain ranges and peaks from the back deck including Mount Mitchell to the north and Grandfather Mountain to the northeast. Also, only 30-45 minutes from Asheville, Black Mountain, and Hendersonville, shopping, dining, and nightlife are not far away. The town of Chimney Rock (shopping), Chimney Rock State Park (hiking), and Lake Lure (swimming/boating), are located 15-20 minutes away. For reference, The Hideaway is an approximate 30 minute drive from I-40 (via Hwy 9) and I-26 (via Hwy 64).

Situated at ~ 3,200 feet above sea level, The Hideaway was built in 2013 and is a cabin/modern home best suited for couples and small families. Making the most out of 1,050 sq ft, the cabin has 3 bedrooms (two gueen beds and 1 full bed), a living room, a full kitchen, and a dining area. The two queen bedrooms are upstairs and share a full bathroom with shower. The full bedroom is the smallest and located downstairs next to a full bathroom with shower. There is a wrap around deck that goes from the front of the house and around the side to a large deck on the back of the house. Sit on the back deck in the Adirondack chairs, go for a hike, or watch cable satellite TV, all are possible during your stay. The house is located on a 5-acre wooded lot within an undeveloped subdivision. Surrounding the property are hundreds of acres of forest and over a mile of dirt roads/trails (shared by all subdivision property owners) on which to hike and enjoy the outdoors. Birdwatchers will definitely want to bring their binoculars as you never know what you may see. A snowy owl, a rare migrant to southern forests, was observed Thanksgiving weekend 2013 off the back deck.

There is not a telephone at the house so you will need a cell phone. I know Verizon cell phones work good, but I am not sure about other carriers. Also, the house is not wired for internet (does not have WiFi) so your mobile device must be capable of a wireless signal connection to access the internet.

No pets are allowed. Please make sure you review the entire rental agreement prior to booking.

More Details

Property Manager
William Busbee
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

Ken,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to add more trash cans in the house. There is the one under the kitchen sink but I will put some in the bathrooms as well. Thanks for letting me know. Hope you can return soon.



Steven
May 2014
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Black Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • marina
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Hiking, Camping, Outdoor Fire Pit, Charcoal Grill, Full Kitchen (with all necessary cooking supplies, plates, glasses, bowls, silverware, paper towels, sugar, salt and pepper, coffee filters), Dishwasher, Refridgerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Washer & Dryer, Outdoor Deck with Adirondack Chairs, Cable TV, BluRay/DVD player, I-Pod/I-Pad Music Player, Fireplace (wood-burning), sheets, towels, and pillows.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(55 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
16% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
The Hideaway **Cozy New Home/Cabin Tucked Away in the Mountains**
average rating of 4.8 based on 57 reviews
Lexington, SC
5

A gem of a house in the middle of the mountains!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hideaway. The directions to the house were spot on, GPS would have led us a different way. Having the 4WD was perfect to get down and up the driveway, even after the rain. The house itself was in a perfect spot to have some breathtaking views. The kitchen had everything we needed, bedrooms were clean, and bathrooms were just the right size. We brought our own firewood and had marshmallows one night using the fire pit. Only wish the grill would have been a little bigger, but no biggie, we just cooked inside. It was about a 45 minute drive to Biltmore and 25 minute drive to the best apple picking places. I would recommend the Hideaway to anyone wanting to relax and enjoy the views. Owner was extremely nice and would definitely book with him again.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home with a gorgeous view!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at the Hideaway! Very convenient to Chimney Rock. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing solitude

  • 5 of 5

This house has a amazing setting. If you like being away from it all in the woods with a amazing view this place is for you. You will need 4wd to access this cabin. Also we were very glad we arrived during daylight. The cabin was very clean and we had everything we needed. Make sure to bring firewood for either the fire pit or fireplace inside. It has a beautiful deck that you will want to spend most of your time there on. We had a lot of rain which limited the outside time. We managed to get one campfire in before the rainy days moved in. You are about a half hour from either of the towns. Also there is no wifi at the house or At&T signal. So make sure you do all your research online while you are in town with signal. We did come across signal on the higher elevation roads at times going back to the cabin. There is plenty of hiking to do near the cabin on the access roads. We have 3 kids and the cabin was the perfect size for the 5 of us. Our 2 year old spent the week running back and forth on the deck. He loved it. Thank You William for a great week.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Greg, Thanks so much for writing and thank you for the thoughtful and helpful review. I'm glad you and your family had a good time and enjoyed your stay. Hope you will return. William
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great out of the way location

  • 4 of 5

Wonderful house with great views! Just a little to out of the way and not cell service or wifi made daily planning for side trips around the area difficult. Although was nice being without as well.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: David, thanks for taking the time to write. Happy to hear you liked the views. I've made a point to note the lack of wi-fi and questionable cell service in the property description on the website and rental agreement, so there will be no surprises for guests upon their arrival. William
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great house!

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful house, best view of the mountains out of many rentals we have stayed! House was clean, had everything we needed!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Alex, Thanks again for choosing to stay at The Hideaway and for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you liked it. William
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Mountain Getaway

  • 4 of 5

When looking for a vacation rental for this trip, my husband wanted a place where he could look out and see for miles and take in the stars at night. This property did not disappoint. The views from the back deck are stunning! One thing we weren't quite prepared for was just how remote the property is. When the owner recommends using a 4-wheel drive to go down the driveway, take this seriously. We had some rain during our stay and did not feel our truck would make it back up the driveway so we parked at the top and hiked down to the house. The owner was very accommodating and responsive to our text messages. Loved the house overall and it was perfect for our family get together.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Anne, Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience. I'm glad you all enjoyed your stay. William Word of note for potential future renters: It is not a recommendation but a requirement that you have 4WD to rent the property. If you desire, and are physically able, you can however park at the top of the driveway and walk (~ 800 feet) down to the house.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Shop.

* Eat.

* Drink.

* Hike..

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* HIking.....

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Hiking.

* Campfire....

Chimney Rock State Park, Florence Nature Preserve, Upper Hickory Nut Gorge Trail System, Bat Cave, Lake Lure, Asheville, Black Mountain, Montreat (beautiful little town with great public hiking trails and playgrounds), Hendersonville

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Damage Deposit $125

Holiday week/weekends are extra, please inquire for rate.

$125 refundable security/damage deposit is required and included in the total rental payment. You can also make your rental payments and refundable damage deposit payment through PayPal. If you prefer to use PayPal, let me know and I will email you the rental agreement to review/sign and invoices from PayPal.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.