Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Promise at Silver Lake .

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, 18 Sleeps

Enjoy this 4 bedroom 3 bath home that is located on the second lot off Silver Lake.

You will be able to enjoy a veiw of the dunes, and the Lake from the cottage.

The driveway is also a public access so your water activities are only 100' from the door of the cottage.

Our cottage is fully stocked including bedding and towels.

We have 15 kayaks 2 sand boards and 2 sand sleds 2 paddle boards and bikes available to rent for the week ($35.00 each for the week)

Property Manager
Mike Tolsma
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 14, 2018


Mears House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 5:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 20
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Lake View
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair accessible
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Air conditioned Tv with cable Wireless internet Gas grill Fire pit All bedding provided All kitchen appliances dishes and utinsels, towels and dishclothes Washer and dryer Outdoor seating Downstairs bedroom with 2 queen beds Downstairs bedroom with queen bed and sofa-sleeper Sofa-sleeper in living room Master bedroom upstairs with king bed and private deck with view of the dunes upstairs bedroom with queen bed and bunkbeds Upstairs living area has beds for 4


4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
The Promise at Silver Lake .
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews

I was not very happy

  • 1 of 5

This unit had a lot of bugs in it. The stairway handrail was broken and I’m handicap and had a problem going upstairs. All the mattresses Springs were popping up out of them and the chairs in the dining room had the same problem. Some of the pillows had yellow and brown stains and flat. The barbecue was given to us with no propane. We picked up about 35 nails around the fire pit which is a hazard. The entrance of the house had numerous spiderwebs outside on the patio.

I would not recommend this location to anybody.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have 6 cottages at Silver lake, you can see them at and 95% of our guests get their full deposit back. Let's get to the point of your review, you told me you were going to give me a bad review if I did not return your deposit. I did not return your deposit because you broke the stove and then tried to fix it and broke it to the point that it had to be replaced. When you called me on Thursday to see if you could rent the cottage for another week (Why did you want another week if it was so bad) did you not tell me there was a problem with the stove. After you left and the cleaners told me it was broke. I asked you what happened and you told me that on Wednesday the handle was striped and you tried to fix it. I had to bring a new stove on Saturday morning when the next renters were already there. If you want to come to our cottage we want you to treat it with care and respect. If you are going to break our cottage and the things in it DO NOT come. We understand things happen and there is a lot to maintaining 6 cottages. If there is a problem during your stay please let me know and I will take care of it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

stayed at The Promise

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time. The weather was not great but that didn't matter. The cottage had lots of room. It's actually bigger inside that it looks outside. It was very clean. We enjoyed the nearby dunes, beaches and lighthouse. The neighborhood was very quiet which was nice. Hope to do it again.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

awesome place!

  • 5 of 5

The promise was a beautiful cabin, with a beautiful veiw!! can't wait to come back.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The promise lived up to the name!! Wonderful.

  • 5 of 5

Mike's home and property were perfect. The whole family loved it. We had immediate access to the lake and would zip across to the dunes every day for a private beach experience to enjoy the lake and sand!! Highly recommend if you have your own water craft. One note, the launch is shallow so we used the public launch right down the road at the state park. Great place overall!!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The Promise lives up to its name

  • 4 of 5

We stayed here 4 nights during a family vacation. The location was perfect. There were plenty of towels and cooking equipment. We will definitely consider returning for future vacations.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Take your ORV in the dunes.

* Boating.

* Mac Woods dune rides.

* Golf.

* Relax.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Sunsets.

* Little Sable lighthouse.

* Go to the beach.

* Biking.

* Fishing.

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Walk in the dunes.

* Enjoy the firepit.

* Swimming.

* Explore surounding areas.

* Ice cream.

Sand dunes

Craigs cruisers

Watercraft, Jeep, Dune buggy and scooter rentals

State parks

Little Sable lighthouse

Mac woods dune rides

West Michigan Sand drags

Golf courses

Pentwater 10 minutes away

Ludington 30 minutes away

Michigans adventure 40 minutes away

Grace adventure camp

Shopping, Pizza, Ice creamand Groecery


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit $500

2015 rates
May 2 - June 13 $1500.00 per week $900.00 per weekend
June 13 - August 29 $2500.00 per week
4th of July week $3000.00
August 29 - November 1 1500.00 per week $1000.00 per weekend

We require the $300.00 security deposit to hold your reservation.
First come first served basis.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund