Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private pool, salt water canal, all new interior, including custom Kitchen.

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 - 31 nights

Overview

About the property

Pool home on the water, 2 beds 2 baths, quiet neighborhood, close to everything

We have owned this terrific property for three years and are eager to share it with you. "Idle Days" is located in a quiet neighborhood, close to everything. All the shopping and restaurants you may want are within 1 – 2 miles. Large screened in, solar heated pool with comfortable seating. Large cement dock to fish or just enjoy the water and nature. Many different birds visit the yard daily. Egrets, Ibis, Herons and even a couple Storks.

This vacation home was updated with the vacation renter in mind. All the amenities of home, satellite TV, internet with wi-fi, master with with private bath and large walk in shower, new extremely comfortable mattresses, all new appliances, so you shouldn’t have to worry about an inconvenient break down during your stay. Even a new quiet pool pump. The interior is a cozy coastal cottage feel, with new bright paint colors on the walls. Brand new plush carpet under foot in each bed room. A brand new designer kitchen, with quartz counters and self closing cabinets. All the kitchen appliances are new within the last year. Brand new front load, quiet washer and dryer located just off the kitchen. With an attached garage to park your car in out of the weather.

The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you might need for cooking, baking or grilling. Dish cloths and towels, microwave, toaster, crock pot, blender, coffee maker and even an electric tea pot. We try to keep stocked a good supply of spices, flour, sugar etc. Who wants to buy an entire container of parsley when you only need a couple teaspoons? There is laundry soap, dish soap, paper products etc, to start off your stay.

Other amenities include large beach towels, beach chairs, coolers, hair dryer, printer (for lap top etc), lots of board games and a small collection of books. Feel free to take or leave any book you would like.

The Tampa Bay Rays training facility is just down the road about 2-1/2 miles, on the way to all the best white sand beaches of Engelwood, Venice and Boca Grande on Gasparilla Island. There are numerous golf courses in the area plus other attractions including Bush Gardens in Tampa, Fisherman's village in Punta Gorda which is a few minutes to the south and if you like antiquing, check out Arcadia to the east.

More Details

Owner
Ron and Sharie Holben
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 21, 2017

About Ron and Sharie Holben

Your Hosts: Ron and Sharie Holben. We live in Lansing Michigan and are semi retired from the drinking water and water well industry. For 7 years we had a vacation home in Wawa, Ontario Canada. About 4 hours north of Michigan's upper peninsula. We had 200' of pristine lakefront, sandy beach and clear water. We were entirely off the grid, no power, no phone no Internet. Ah paradise.

In the spring of 2013 we decided it was time for a change. We sold the cabin and the search began for the perfect southern vacation home. We looked in Florida along with several other States.

We decided on Port Charlotte for it's proximity to the gulf, all the activities in the area, and terrific weather year round. The bonus was having restaurants and shopping so close and amazing neighbors, in an extremely quiet residential neighborhood.

Ron and Sharie Holben purchased this house in 2014

Why Ron and Sharie Holben chose Florida South Central Gulf Coast

This is the perfect property, if you want quiet relaxation with your own private pool and dock on a salt water canal. And.... you also want to be close to all the shops and restaurants. You can have it all. Plus, we are only about 20 minutes from the gulf beaches

What makes this house unique

We have just started to discover all the area has to offer. We hope you will fall in love with Port Charlotte and the Gulf Islands, as we did and enjoy exploring the uncrowded beaches, quaint shops and excellent dining.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a very relaxing week at Idle Days. The house was very comfortable and VERY clean!!! It had great space, but easy to keep picked-up. The shower was amazing, love the water pressure. We saw many things in the area - including the drums at sunset at Venice Beach. Great shopping and places to eat in the area and close to anything else you would like to see or do. We floated in the pool everyday and enjoyed watching for fish in the canal. Already looking ahead to next year - Sharie and Ron were Great to work with!!!
Mar 2015
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Port Charlotte House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 2 bicycles
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
* Salt water canal, large cement dock with gulf access * Master suite with king bed and private bath * Central air

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

5

Love this house and love this location

  • 5 of 5

This is our third winter here. Perfect location, so close to everything - stores, restaurants, theater etc. yet the neighborhood is very quiet The house has every amenity you may need. Fully equipped and brand new kitchen with new appliances and new washer and dryer. The large walk in shower in the master bath is great with wonderful water pressure, large bath towels are supplied along with a hair dryer. The house is nicely decorated with a beachy feel and cheerful colors. We enjoy the new lower dock and the swing at the water, fun to watch the fish jump and saw many manatees. The pool is solar heated and always warm, we love the screened in area to enjoy the out doors with out the bugs, there is a table with comfortable chairs along with a sitting area with cushioned furniture. There are a variety of birds that visit almost daily. Among them are Egrets and Wood Storks. We look forward to having many winters here.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, that would be us, the owners, this is our third winter. We block our dates and the website sends us emails as though we were paying guests. Thought this time I would give my own review as to what we love about this place. As you have read above, there are many things we love about 'Idle Days'. And anything we didn't like from our first winter here we have made those changes. We have tried to keep the vacationer in mind when we make any change. We think about what we would like in a home if we were renting for vacation. Since our purchase we have completely remodeled the kitchen, all new paint inside and out, new vanities, extended the lanai, installed a quieter pool pump, new windows, new carpet, new appliances including washer and dryer, added flowers and improved the lawn are just a few of the changes. We love the house, location and neighborhood and hope you do also.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice Relaxing Stay at Idle Days

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at Idle Days. The house was clean and comfortable. The neighborhood was quiet and conveniently located for us. Sharie was great to work with. She reached out to make sure everything was going well and was available for any questions we had. We would definitely stay there again when we are in the area.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you were able to spend some quality time with your family and sincerely hope that you will keep us in mind for any future visits you have to our area. We are in the process of making a few upgrades, so your next visit you will see new carpet, a quieter pool pump and perhaps a remodeled kitchen. Thank you for staying at Idle Days, Ron and Sharie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5

We were fortunate enough to spend a 6 week holiday in Idle Days (Sept/Oct 2016). The house had everything we needed for a relaxing vacation - it was very well equipped, in the kitchen and throughout, and was immaculately clean. (The master bed was wonderfully comfortable). The weather was exceptionally hot for the time of year during our stay, so the pool was a very welcome sight at the end of a long day out - or great to spend a relaxing day beside!

The location was excellent too, as it was close to every kind of restaurant you could possibly want, as well as shops - Murdock Circle Mall is a little over a mile from door to door. It is also in a great spot for road links to the north, south and east. However, it was far enough from busy roads as to be quiet and free from all but local traffic.

We saw a variety of wildlife around the house - a family of racoons raiding the avocado tree every day, a pair of ospreys, a gang of up to 19 ibis rummaging in the grass most of every day. Then there was 'Eddie' the Egret (every visitor gives him a different name). Eddie came most days to the gate of the pool deck and waited patiently for 'titbits' - towards the end of our stay, he arrived with a friendly snowy egret shadowing him.

All in all, we had a stress-free 6 weeks which is exactly what we needed, and the owner was regularly in touch to check all was well, which was very comforting. Great house, great area, would definitely return, and highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a real pleasure having you at Idle Days. I know Eddie is missing you and all his treats, sounds like he has a new girl friend with the snowy egret in tow. We do have a lot of wild life in the area. Manatee in the canal in the winter, a mama bob cat that brings her baby around once in a while. A ton of Ibis, vulture and osprey also an eagle now and again. Oh yeah and the resident coons, who love the avocados and fortunately have never gotten into anything else. That bed is wonderful isn't it. There have been so many guests rave about that mattress, I think if it could have fit on a plane it would have come up missing a long time ago. Glad you had a safe trip home and if you find your self back in the area, we sincerely hope you will stay with us again. Sincerely, Ron and Sharie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Old Hickory, TN
5

Just what we needed...

  • 5 of 5

We had to do a last minute trip based on family in poor health needing our assistance. We booked easily and quickly with great communication regarding coming and going. Upon arrival, we realized the house was going to feel like home and work well for us. It was perfect for me to work while my husband and daughter were with family but in and out. The house allowed us to keep our daughter on toddler schedule and we enjoyed some great perks like the pool and canal. If we make our way back, we will be looking this place back up!

The beds were comfortable, the house was clean, the kitchen had what was needed for cooking good meals and it was nice that we only had to replace paper/cleaning products vs. bring all that were needed. I would strongly encourage others to enjoy!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were so glad that we were able to accommodate you. We have put a lot of thought into furnishing the home and have worked hard to help our guests feel like this is their home while they are there, not just another rental. We are thrilled that you felt comfortable as soon as you walked in. We are constantly making improvements and have a few more lined up for this winter. We like to keep "Idle Days" fresh and up to date in every area that we can. Thank you for staying with us and taking such good care of our home. if you ever find yourself back in the Port Charlotte area we look forward to you staying again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
United States
5

Comfortable, quiet, and convenient

  • 5 of 5

I only have positive things to say about Idle Days and about Shari Holben (as host). My first reaction upon arriving at the house was that it is even nicer than it looks in the photos. Everything was clean, comfortable, and welcoming. The outdoor space at the house is beautiful and tranquil. The house was stocked with everything that I needed and more. Just bring food and clothes and you will be set. I appreciated the keyless front door -- using an entry code rather than a key means no chance of getting locked out. I also appreciated being able to park in the garage, especially because it was HOT during my stay. Normal August weather in FL with heat index over 100F and heavy short rain and thunderstorms daily. The neighborhood is very quiet, but it is also conveniently located to all amenities. Shari was great with communication prior to my visit, and she checked in on me by email a couple of times without being intrusive in any way. My only regret was that I was not in town for vacation, I was working, so I didn’t get to spend as much time being “idle” as I would have liked. The couple of times that I went it the pool it was just fabulous. I had a difficult time getting back to work after my dips in the pool. All in all it was a pleasant stay, and I would not hesitate to rent this house in the future.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate you staying at Idle Days. We try very hard to make everyones stay as comfortable as we can and we take pride in being able to offer a great little getaway. It means a lot to know that our guests notice the little things that we do. We like to think we are helping our guests make memories, even if your stay is because of work. Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to you staying with us in the future, hopefully next time for a true vacation. Ron and Sharie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing Trip!!!

  • 5 of 5

Everything was exactly as described and the house was amazing!!! The location was absolutely PERFECT! Anything we wanted was only 5 minutes away. Every restaurant we could ever dream of. The beach was less than 30 minutes away and it was GORGEOUS there. We had such a wonderful time and hated to leave!!! Sharie checked in on us several times during our stay and it was so nice to have such a caring person you're renting from. We were in the pool EVERY SINGLE DAY, sometimes twice a day!!! We will definitely rent here again!!!!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure having you at Idle Days. We are so glad that your vacation was a good one and you brought home a lot of good memories. We try very hard to make our place comfortable and as accommodating as possible. So we are very pleased to hear such nice remarks as yours. We look forward to your next stay. Ron and Sharie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
June, July, August 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$500
$1,325
 
 
September 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$550
$1,475
 
 
October, November 2017
Oct 1 2017 - Nov 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$625
$1,600
 
 
December 2017
Dec 1 2017 - Dec 31 2017
31 night minimum stay
$1,700
 
 
January, February, March 2018
Jan 1 2018 - Mar 31 2018
30 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
 
April 2018
Apr 1 2018 - Apr 30 2018
7 night minimum stay
$645
$1,650
 
 
May 2018
May 1 2018 - May 31 2018
7 night minimum stay
$550
$1,475
 
 
June, July, August 2018
Jun 1 2018 - Aug 31 2018
7 night minimum stay
$525
$1,375
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$675
$1,700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $350
Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 12.0%

We run specials all the time, ask about our current offers.
Includes utility allotment of $150.00 per month.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send Email Send Email
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car

You might like these similar properties