check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

The Sea la vie - Budget friendly Ocean Front Cottage

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VacationRentals.com checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Jan 23, 2017
  • Sleeps 4
  • 1 Bedroom
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4

Ocean Front Value !

Enjoy the panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean from the shared yard.

This one bedroom, one bath cottage is fully furnished with all the amenities including a fully equipped kitchen that allows you to prepare meals at home. The house comfortably sleeps 4 people. The master bedroom has a queen size bed and a sofa sleeper in the living room. Step out the back door and walk 15 steps to a panoramic ocean view! The shared backyard is large and spacious and includes patio furniture, lounge chairs, hot tub and gas BBQs. The perfect place to relax and spend time with family and friends. Beach access is less than a 1/2 a block away.

Just steps away from Sunset Cliffs Park with its many hidden beaches and named for its exquisite sunset vistas, this park encompasses 68 acres of bluffs and walking paths high above the wide expanse of the Pacific Ocean. With its rugged coastline and panoramic views, this area is popular with surfers, ocean-gazers, and folks who like to cruise Sunset Cliffs Boulevard, which runs the length of the cliffs. Drive along Sunset Cliffs Boulevard and enjoy breathtaking views and photo opportunities. It also makes a nice bike ride or walk, and it’s a great place to watch birds. You can see migrating California gray whales during the winter months from high on the bluffs.

Ocean beach is a relaxed beach town, encounter a distinctive downtown district just steps from the ocean, enjoy San Diego's finest and largest Farmers Market, experience the original Dog Beach, or stroll on the longest concrete pier on the west coast. We are located across the bay a few minutes by car from the popular Sea World, 5 minutes from the San Diego Airport and 10 minutes from the World Famous San Diego Zoo, Petco Park and the Gas Lamp District.

*Ask about our other vacation rentals next door

Also, we have new inexpensive beautiful vacation cottages coming available in Mission Beach, the town next door, just inquire

More Details

Recent Review

About the Owner

Lorie & Mike
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 23, 2017

About Lorie & Mike

We love taking old properties at the beach and breathing some fresh air into them for others to enjoy

Why Lorie & Mike chose San Diego County

Direct ocean front but close to all things San Diego located in the lovable town of Ocean Beach

24 Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

5

California Dreamin'

  • 5 of 5

This is a lovely small cottage right on Sunset Cliffs. There was very little "people noise;" we were lulled to sleep by the sound of the crashing waves. It is easy walking distance to the restaurant and shops of Ocean Beach and in the other direction to the Sunset Cliffs park. The weather was gorgeous while we were there and the tides very high. Unfortunately, we were witness to the power of the ocean when we saw parts of the cliff fall into the ocean. The owners quickly blocked off the area of greatest danger. I sure hope this is still standing when we return to San Diego.

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you loved it and we look forward to you coming back as we're always improving the property. We were actually planning to block off the north end of the yard for some scheduled maintenance taking a day or two anyway for some bluff stabilization which is done now. Once the neighbor to the north completes some boundary work, we will be doing a complete renovation of our own yard overlooking the ocean so hopefully your experience will be even more amazing when you return :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oahu, Hawaii
3

3 stars

  • 3 of 5

My husband and I stayed in this rental for one week. It was a nice size for 2 people. The location was good, it was only a short drive to the Ocean Beach area where there are shops and restaurants. It is right next to the water down a short pathway to a shared patio. The beach access that was close by was closed though. The rental itself was ok. It could have been cleaner and better maintained. My isses were the bedding and towels had stains on them, we had two large spiders in our one week stay and the rental could use some maintenance and upkeep. The other thing we didn't like about the rental was not all the windows had blinds or curtains so it wasn't private. People could walk by the kitchen window and see you in your PJs. The welcome letter does say something about them not stocking toilet paper and such and they weren't kidding we had less than one roll when we got there. I've never had to go toilet paper shopping on vacation and we have stayed at many private rentals before. I would stay in the Sunset Cliffs area again but not at this rental.

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love great feedback and opportunities to always improve our guest's experiences and love when a guest's review can be helpful to others but this one is so staggeringly inaccurate it is a pretty gross misinterpretation of the level of service you'll find at our little beach getaway especially considering this review of theirs is the only 3 star review in a "sea" of 4 & 5 stars, pun intended, ha. Unfortunately, we never had any of our communications to these guests answered - even when we inquired about their well being during the stay nor were we informed when this couple checked in or out. We encourage any calls, texts and emails especially if you need anything, even if it is as simple as how to roll down the blind on the rear kitchen door they seemed to have overlooked (?) or where the additional roll(s) of TP can be located (under the bathroom vanity or easily replenished from housekeeping if you run out during a shorter stay) but our longer term guests renting these fully stocked cottages DO buy some of their own supplies if needed for extended reservations of course. Our housekeeping also does an impeccable personable job keeping everything just right and would have been extremely happy to replace any and all linens if needed and even remove any big bad spiders (this is a first) which is funny to hear from someone in from Hawaii where living with creepy crawlys is the norm, eek!! The closest beach access WAS damaged during our last El Nino winter but they've neglected to mention here that there are alternative beaches just a couple blocks north & south as described in all of our support materials. We also understand that travelers may be too busy to read through everything before arriving like these two but again ... we are always available to attend to your needs as our honored guests - just ask us, cheers -David, Lorie & Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
2 6
4

pleasant stay

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful and affordable cottage! So close to seaworld and downtown SD. Great access to owners for information about the rental during the stay. Recommended.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Clean cottage, quiet area close to the cliffs

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our 3 night stay in this quiet cottage so close to Sunset Cliffs Natural Park - we walked there the first night shortly after we arrived. Conveniently located for quick trips to Ocean Beach, Mission Beach and La Jolla, and when we weren't enjoying the area, we were relaxing in the cottage (slept soundly in that comfortable bed!). Everything was clean and in working order...no problems! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Chandler, AZ
4

Paradise found in Ocean Beach!

  • 4 of 5

Thoroughly enjoyed our get-away--the location is perfect if you are looking to relax and enjoy. This sleepy little

town of Ocean Beach reminds me of a place that time forgot---fun/quaint restaurants--and the cottage was perfect

--we spent hours on the back deck overlooking the Pacific Ocean--we would definitely return to this little jewel in

Ocean Beach.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Awesome Beach - Cute Bungalow

  • 5 of 5

What a great value for Ocean Front - this cottage was just a few steps away from looking straight down at the water. Super comfortable with everything we needed for a short stay. We had fun in the town of Ocean Beach also which is a quick walk away but we did a $3 Uber to the OB main drag the couple of times we went because we are happy lazy. We'll be back!!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

From the Owner

Direct ocean front but close to all things San Diego located in the lovable town of Ocean Beach

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Lindberg Field at 5 Miles Nearest Beach : Bermuda (stair temp closed) 2nd beach 2 blks north

5 minutes to Seaworld, minutes to Gaslamp, Petco park and downtown San Diego. Mission bay, world class Sportsfishing, surfing and ocean sports!

**Also if you’d like to make your stay extra special, wonderful spa services such as facials and massages can be scheduled and performed on premises during your stay

Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Contact Me Email Manager

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Cleaning Fee $90
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 11.05%

Just a non-refundable $50 "Pet Fee" in addition to your small mandatory insurance policy will allow you to bring your pets without any additional deposit - woof!!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Updated: Jan 23, 2017
12
Available arrival
12
Available stay (no arrival)
12
Unavailable

Amenities

Property Type

  • cottage

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television

Pool / Spa

  • Hot Tub ...

Onsite Services

  • Massage

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • pets considered ...

Location Type

  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront

Attractions

  • bay/sound
  • coin laundry
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Floor Area

  • 520 sq. ft.

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1
  • Tub and shower!

Bedrooms

  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1
  • Living Area - 1 sleep sofa /futon, This is a queen sleeper sofa in the living area
  • Plus queen sleeper sofa in living area

Outside

  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website

Notes:

  • We have BBQs, ocean view sitting area, firepit, hot tub (when operable), full kitchen, linens, beach towels and we do endeavor to keep beach chairs and body boards on the property but these items rotate and change.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car