Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Sea la vie - Budget friendly Ocean Front Cottage

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 520 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4

Ocean Front Value !

New AC/Heating units for 2017

Enjoy the panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean from the shared yard.

This one bedroom, one bath cottage is fully furnished with all the amenities including a fully equipped kitchen that allows you to prepare meals at home. The house comfortably sleeps 4 people. The master bedroom has a queen size bed and a sofa sleeper in the living room. Step out the back door and walk 15 steps to a panoramic ocean view! The shared backyard is large and spacious and includes patio furniture, lounge chairs, hot tub and gas BBQs. The perfect place to relax and spend time with family and friends. Beach access is less than a 1/2 a block away.

Just steps away from Sunset Cliffs Park with its many hidden beaches and named for its exquisite sunset vistas, this park encompasses 68 acres of bluffs and walking paths high above the wide expanse of the Pacific Ocean. With its rugged coastline and panoramic views, this area is popular with surfers, ocean-gazers, and folks who like to cruise Sunset Cliffs Boulevard, which runs the length of the cliffs. Drive along Sunset Cliffs Boulevard and enjoy breathtaking views and photo opportunities. It also makes a nice bike ride or walk, and it’s a great place to watch birds. You can see migrating California gray whales during the winter months from high on the bluffs.

Ocean beach is a relaxed beach town, encounter a distinctive downtown district just steps from the ocean, enjoy San Diego's finest and largest Farmers Market, experience the original Dog Beach, or stroll on the longest concrete pier on the west coast. We are located across the bay a few minutes by car from the popular Sea World, 5 minutes from the San Diego Airport and 10 minutes from the World Famous San Diego Zoo, Petco Park and the Gas Lamp District.

*Ask about our other vacation rentals next door

More Details

Property Manager
Lorie & Mike
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 21, 2017

About Lorie & Mike

We love taking old properties at the beach and breathing some fresh air into them for others to enjoy

Why Lorie & Mike chose San Diego County

Direct ocean front but close to all things San Diego located in the lovable town of Ocean Beach

Amenities

Ocean Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 520 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tub and shower!
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Living Area - 1 sleep sofa /futon , This is a queen sleeper sofa in the living area
  • Plus queen sleeper sofa in living area
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • coin laundry
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We have BBQs, ocean view sitting area, firepit, hot tub (when operable), full kitchen, linens, beach towels and we do endeavor to keep beach chairs and body boards on the property but these items rotate and change.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing trip. It was exactly as described by the owners. David the property manager was a wonderful help being my first time booking with a travel site. He was always quick to respond and answer any questions I had no matter how small.

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful beach house!

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here in Ocean Beach. The home is lovely with a beautiful little shared patio overlooking the ocean. The sunset and view from the hot tub was to die for. The neighborhood of Ocean Beach is quaint and quiet. It was a great retreat!

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

California Dreamin'

  • 5 of 5

This is a lovely small cottage right on Sunset Cliffs. There was very little "people noise;" we were lulled to sleep by the sound of the crashing waves. It is easy walking distance to the restaurant and shops of Ocean Beach and in the other direction to the Sunset Cliffs park. The weather was gorgeous while we were there and the tides very high. Unfortunately, we were witness to the power of the ocean when we saw parts of the cliff fall into the ocean. The owners quickly blocked off the area of greatest danger. I sure hope this is still standing when we return to San Diego.

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you loved it and we look forward to you coming back as we're always improving the property. We were actually planning to block off the north end of the yard for some scheduled maintenance taking a day or two anyway for some bluff stabilization which is done now. Once the neighbor to the north completes some boundary work, we will be doing a complete renovation of our own yard overlooking the ocean so hopefully your experience will be even more amazing when you return :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oahu, Hawaii
3

3 stars

  • 3 of 5

My husband and I stayed in this rental for one week. It was a nice size for 2 people. The location was good, it was only a short drive to the Ocean Beach area where there are shops and restaurants. It is right next to the water down a short pathway to a shared patio. The beach access that was close by was closed though. The rental itself was ok. It could have been cleaner and better maintained. My isses were the bedding and towels had stains on them, we had two large spiders in our one week stay and the rental could use some maintenance and upkeep. The other thing we didn't like about the rental was not all the windows had blinds or curtains so it wasn't private. People could walk by the kitchen window and see you in your PJs. The welcome letter does say something about them not stocking toilet paper and such and they weren't kidding we had less than one roll when we got there. I've never had to go toilet paper shopping on vacation and we have stayed at many private rentals before. I would stay in the Sunset Cliffs area again but not at this rental.

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love great feedback and opportunities to always improve our guest's experiences and love when a guest's review can be helpful to others but this one is so staggeringly inaccurate it is a pretty gross misinterpretation of the level of service you'll find at our little beach getaway especially considering this review of theirs is the only 3 star review in a "sea" of 4 & 5 stars, pun intended, ha. Unfortunately, we never had any of our communications to these guests answered - even when we inquired about their well being during the stay nor were we informed when this couple checked in or out. We encourage any calls, texts and emails especially if you need anything, even if it is as simple as how to roll down the blind on the rear kitchen door they seemed to have overlooked (?) or where the additional roll(s) of TP can be located (under the bathroom vanity or easily replenished from housekeeping if you run out during a shorter stay) but our longer term guests renting these fully stocked cottages DO buy some of their own supplies if needed for extended reservations of course. Our housekeeping also does an impeccable personable job keeping everything just right and would have been extremely happy to replace any and all linens if needed and even remove any big bad spiders (this is a first) which is funny to hear from someone in from Hawaii where living with creepy crawlys is the norm, eek!! The closest beach access WAS damaged during our last El Nino winter but they've neglected to mention here that there are alternative beaches just a couple blocks north & south as described in all of our support materials. We also understand that travelers may be too busy to read through everything before arriving like these two but again ... we are always available to attend to your needs as our honored guests - just ask us, cheers -David, Lorie & Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
3 7
4

pleasant stay

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful and affordable cottage! So close to seaworld and downtown SD. Great access to owners for information about the rental during the stay. Recommended.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Clean cottage, quiet area close to the cliffs

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our 3 night stay in this quiet cottage so close to Sunset Cliffs Natural Park - we walked there the first night shortly after we arrived. Conveniently located for quick trips to Ocean Beach, Mission Beach and La Jolla, and when we weren't enjoying the area, we were relaxing in the cottage (slept soundly in that comfortable bed!). Everything was clean and in working order...no problems! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring 2017 Cont...
Apr 14 2017 - May 27 2017
3 night minimum stay
$129
$899
$3,500
 
 
2 Nite Gap
May 28 2017 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$129
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$169
$4,850
 
 
Winter 2017
Sep 1 2017 - May 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
$139
$899
$3,500
 
 
Summer 2018
Jun 1 2018 - Aug 31 2018
4 night minimum stay
$169
$4,850
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$129
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $90
Tax Rate 11.05%

Just a non-refundable $50 "Pet Fee" in addition to your small mandatory insurance policy will allow you to bring your pets without any additional deposit - woof!!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send Email Send Email
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car

You might like these similar properties