Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The "Sea la vie" - Budget Friendly Ocean Front Cottage

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 520 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4

Ocean Front Value !

New AC/Heating units for 2017

Enjoy the panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean from the shared yard and we have free private off street parking.

This one bedroom, one bath cottage is fully furnished with all the amenities including a fully equipped kitchen that allows you to prepare meals at home. The house comfortably sleeps 4 people. The master bedroom has a queen size bed and a sofa sleeper in the living room. Step out the back door and walk 15 steps to a panoramic ocean view! The shared backyard is large and spacious and includes patio furniture, lounge chairs, hot tub and gas BBQs. The perfect place to relax and spend time with family and friends.

While our neighborhood beach stairs are closed to damage at the moment, there is another set of stairs 1/2 block north of us to a cobblestone beach and a block north of there are stairs to a cement walking path along the water leading to a hidden sandy cove at Santa Cruz ave (with summer lifeguard on weekends) as well as the long expanse of sandy beach starting at the pier in front of the town of Ocean Beach itself.

We are also just steps away from Sunset Cliffs Park with its many hidden beaches and named for its exquisite sunset vistas, this park encompasses 68 acres of bluffs and walking paths high above the wide expanse of the Pacific Ocean. With its rugged coastline and panoramic views, this area is popular with surfers, ocean-gazers, and folks who like to cruise Sunset Cliffs Boulevard, which runs the length of the cliffs. Drive along Sunset Cliffs Boulevard and enjoy breathtaking views and photo opportunities. It also makes a nice bike ride or walk, and it’s a great place to watch birds. You can see migrating California gray whales during the winter months from high on the bluffs.

Ocean beach is a relaxed beach town, encounter a distinctive downtown district just steps from the ocean, enjoy San Diego's finest and largest Farmers Market, experience the original Dog Beach, or stroll on the longest concrete pier on the west coast. We are located across the bay a few minutes by car from the popular Sea World, 5 minutes from the San Diego Airport and 10 minutes from the World Famous San Diego Zoo, Petco Park and the Gas Lamp District.

*Ask about our other vacation rentals next door

More Details

Property Manager
Lorie & Mike
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 21, 2018

About Lorie & Mike

We love taking old properties at the beach and breathing some fresh air into them for others to enjoy

Why Lorie & Mike chose Ocean Beach

Direct ocean front but close to all things San Diego located in the lovable town of Ocean Beach

Amenities

Ocean Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 520 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4 ...
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25 ...
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Before automatic booking please know there are just two beds - one queen in the bedroom and queen sleeper sofa in the living area (max 4 persons)
  • All outside areas are shared among 4 cottages but often empty. Our hot tub is a favorite feature and runs trouble free mostly but not 100% guaranteed.
  • A dog requires a $50 non-refundable "pet fee". Two dogs require you to write us first. No cats, so sorry.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tub and shower!
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Living Area - 1 sleep sofa /futon , This is a queen sleeper sofa in the living area
  • Plus queen sleeper sofa in living area
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • coin laundry
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We have BBQs, ocean view sitting area, firepit, hot tub (when operable), full kitchen, linens, beach towels and we do endeavor to keep beach chairs and body boards on the property but these items rotate and change.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(60 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
31% Complete
11% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
The "Sea la vie" - Budget Friendly Ocean Front Cottage
average rating of 4.4 based on 60 reviews
5

It was amazing, beautiful, and clean!

  • 5 of 5

First off let me start by staying David has walked me through this whole process since December. With every question, concerns, down to helping readjust my stay. He has been absolutely amazing and helpful through it all. Secondly upon my arrival the staff was amazing, kind, very friendly, and clean! Juanita was very helpful and showed me where everything was that I needed, and for that she was left with a tip waiting for her when she came to help get the key for check out. Third, I loved the view and all of our neighbors were very friendly and polite. It was like a big family community. I want to definitely rent here again next year. I am certain I have found my forever go to beach house when me and my children come in to town. I have absolutely no complaints! Also loved the fact that every one around is animal lovers!!! I would recommend this home to anyone. Thank you all for allowing myself and my family to have a wonderful field passed 4 days. Lori and Mike you both have a beautiful home and wonderful staff to back you up! Thanks for everything. Cheers. :)

Sincerely,

Lanae De Jarlar ❤

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lanae was an absolutely amazing guest also ... please come back :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Minnesota
3

Magnificent views

  • 3 of 5

This was our second stay here and we were glad to see that the cliffs have not crumbled into the sea. The reinforcements and new patio were a great improvement. We were disappointed in the cottage itself in that we had to restock both toilet paper and dishwasher detergent. We had a 12 day reservation and the basic supplies should have reflected that.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are amazingly attentive to our guests and stock each cottage nicely for a short term stay. For longer stays we welcome you to stock the home more to your taste which most folks do or ... just take a second to communicate with us as housekeeping would love to replenish anything you may be out of. We are a little confused why this couple did not take advantage of our lighting fast responses as we would have loved to make their stay even better if they needed anything more - sounds like they love the property though having visited twice already. We look forward to having them again as well as meeting new people who have just discovered this wonderful beach sanctuary at amazingly reasonable prices for direct ocean front. Our mostly 4 & 5 stars ratings tell a more complete picture - come see for yourself :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The view was what sold us.

  • 4 of 5

We had a 3 day visit in San Diego and we knew that with our family of 4 it would be a tight squeeze, but the picture of the views and the hot tub sold us on this property. Unfortunately, the hot tub was out of use during our stay which was disappointing. We still made the most of the gas fire pit in the evening while watching the sun set. The views were worth it.

The condo was clean and cute but it was stocked with the bare minimum. There was only one trash bag. We had stopped at the grocery store in our way in and had bought bacon & eggs for breakfast, but couldn’t find a pan, only a pot. So we had to make hard boiled eggs and bake the bacon. We saved our plastic bags from the store to use as trash bags.

There was a brand new grill which we used for dinner a couple of nights and was nice. The bed wasn’t the most comfortable, as my husband & I rolled to the middle, but that can be anywhere you go. There was great communication with the owners. We would stay again, but not with our kids. (16 & 18) The place just isn’t conducive for 4 people. Hopefully the hot tub will be available!

We spent a lot of time on Newport Ave by the beach. Bella’s Cafe has amazing smoothies and lots of great views during morning walks. The locals are friendly and welcoming.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: To add to this great review - there are extra trash bags under the current one inside the can when you pull it out. We absolutely have a pan as well as everything else you need to prepare meals and get enough calls to know that sometimes guests overlook things being in an unfamiliar space (alert: the hot pads ARE hanging on the wall). Also, the hot tub was fixed right away after its heater failed after 4 years of use - extremely rare and all of our guests are still enjoying this favorite feature every day. Any other concerns, please ask as housekeeping is on the property most days and they will resupply you - we love to help but it is too late finding out after your departure as we respond to inquiries and requests from our honored guests pretty much immediately, cheers
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice place to stay!

  • 4 of 5

Other than the front door not sealing well (we used the side door the rest of our stay), the place was really nice. Area seemed safe, lots of folks riding bikes and walking dogs. Clean and well-decorated condo. Sparsely stocked, but enough for our 3 night stay. Communication with host was great. Plenty of info provided and emails answered promptly. Couldn’t tell from the description that all 4 rooms didn’t open out onto the shared patio, so we were disappointed to find that we had the condo farthest from the beach (only the end one opened onto the patio, the other 3 in the row opened onto a walkway that lead to the patio), but luckily the other three couples staying in the other units were super friendly and made for a very enjoyable sunset and drinks over the fire pit. Adequate parking, thank goodness, since that was a challenge everywhere we went!

  • Submitted: May 14, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Highlands Ranch, CO
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Condo was nice, clean and had a lovely updated interior and we lived out on the back porch enjoying the view and the hot tub. Only small complaint was the bed could use a new mattress and since we shared a wall with the condo next door we could hear the people in there (which is to be expected in a condo). Would definitely go again.

  • Submitted: May 13, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Spanish Fork,Utah
4

Great view!

  • 4 of 5

Very clean and cozy. Loved the patio view!

  • Submitted: May 5, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Lindberg Field
Nearest Beach
Bermuda (stair temp closed) 2nd beach 2 blks north
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* restaurants.

* surf.

* fish.

* seaworld.

* legoland.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* hike.

* beachcomb.

* sunbath.

* sit by the fire and enjoy the views!.

* swim.

Top Thing to do in Family:

* seaworld.

* san diego zoo.

* legoland.

* disneyland.

* gaslamp.

5 minutes to Seaworld, minutes to Gaslamp, Petco park and downtown San Diego. Mission bay, world class Sportsfishing, surfing and ocean sports!

**Also if you’d like to make your stay extra special, wonderful spa services such as facials and massages can be scheduled and performed on premises during your stay

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $90
Pet Fee $50
Property Damage Insurance $59

1) Regardless of this listing site's refund policy, we will return all monies paid to us outside of 30 days of arrival.

2) Just a non-refundable $50 "Pet Fee" in addition to your small mandatory insurance policy will allow you to bring your pets without any additional deposit - woof!!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.