Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Mermaid Landing at Pirate's Cove, a waterfront retreat!

Bedrooms 1
Space 650 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Waterfront paradise off of the Weekie Wachee River with kayaks & paddleboard!!

The perfect mix of relaxation & adventure await you at this charming Old Florida river retreat! Mermiad Landing is the bottom floor unit in a 2 story house called Pirate's Cove. Private entrance, private kayaks, canoe and paddleboard, two mountain bikes and all of the comforts of home. Explore the natural beauty of the crystal clear Weeki Wachee River by kayaks, paddleboard or canoe from your backyard and enjoy the breeze from the dock or backyard!! Home offers a full bed in the master bedroom, a sleeper sofa and a futon in the living room. 2 single person Kayaks, a paddleboard and 1 small canoe suitable for 1 adult or two children are included in your stay for an easy paddle to the famous rope swing, restaurants and local recreation area. There are plenty of restaurants, shops and recreation and entertainment within a short driving distance, including the WORLD FAMOUS WEEKI WACHEE MERMAID SHOW at the Weeki Wachee Springs State Park also home of the Buccaneer Bay Waterpark! Pine Island beach is a short 10 minute drive where you can soak up the sun on the sand or watch a beautiful sunset. There are nearby biking trails. Boats can be rented at very reasonable prices only 10 minutes away at Hernando Beach for a day of fishing or scalloping in season! A little closer is Rogers Park, a little sandy beach on the river accompanied by an adjacent riverfront restaurant. Or stay at the house and grill on the dock while you watch the local fish jump and see the manatees swim by. There is WiFi, a flat screen cable TV, and games for your at home entertainment. Guests will share the dock, garage and laundry. Whether you are looking to relax, find an adventure or a mixture of both, look no further, Mermaid Landing at Pirate's Cove is the place to book your next vacation! Sorry, no pets. Check out our other property, Mermaid Cove with pets allowed (VRBO# 747599)

Jason and Andrea Soldini
Member since: 2015
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 19, 2018

About Jason and Andrea Soldini

Jason and Andrea are lifelong Florida residents. They both grew up in South Florida in the 1970-80's and recall that Old Florida that seems to be disappearing. Both have a deep love for Florida and could not imagine living anywhere else. Jason and Andrea have been married since 1994 and have loved taking travel adventures for anniversaries and family trips. They love finding places to explore with character and beauty , packed with neat things to see and do and are affordable.

Jason and Andrea Soldini purchased this house in 2016

Why Jason and Andrea Soldini chose Weeki Wachee Gardens

In 2010, the family went on it's first Nature Coast adventure, tubing on the Ichetucknee River and scalloping in Steinhatchee. What a blast! In subsequent summers, the family explored Crystal River, Suwanee River, Homosassa Springs and finally Weeki Wachee Springs / Hernando Beach. Weeki Wachee was by far the favorite with its natural surroundlings, waterfront location, proximity to the river, gulf attractions, restaurants and shops. They returned the next year to the same vacation rental home. Since the previous years stay, a lot of thought had been given to purchasing a similar property in Weeki Wachee and purchased Mermaid Cove on W. Richard Drive. (VRBO # 747599) After a year of success and a growing family they discovered this property around the corner and fell in love with the location, size and many unique qualities!

What makes this house unique

Weeki Wachee River Retreats, where "Mermaid Landing" is located is located in the middle of State and National forest preserved lands. The gulf coast is only 10 minutes away, town with all the conveniences is only 10 minutes the other direction. Local attractions include kayaking, cycling, boating, fishing, scalloping and exploring. The entire Nature Coast has so many natural beauties to discover. Mermaid Landing sits right on the water. The Living areas and screen porch overlook the water. The dock offers a peaceful and relaxing place to sit. and watch mullet spring out of the water and manatees cruise by The water is lovely to swim in and the river is a very short paddle away . The river is navigable for small boats such as a pontoon, bowrider or fishing boat and is conveniently close to the gulf. The neighbors are wonderful and the vacationers are friendly. What better location could there be? This is the "Old Florida" that Jason and Andrea grew up in and have now rediscovered!

Whether you are planning a cozy getaway or hosting a large group, Pirate's Cove has the place for your next vacation! Mermaid Landing is a 1/1 that can accommodate up to 4 guests! Upstairs in the 2/1 Captain's Quarters there is space for 7 to stay comfortably. Both are set apart from each other and private yet if needed the entire space can be used for a larger party such as a family reunion. Watch wildlife, fish jumping and manatees swim by from your backyard dock and paddle easily to the crystal clear Weeki Wachee River.


Weeki Wachee Gardens House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Bathroom has been updated and includes a roomy shower.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Master bedroom is bright and airy and has a comfortable queen bed.
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 2 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water tubing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

41% Complete
50% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Mermaid Landing at Pirate's Cove, a waterfront retreat!
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 12 reviews

Relaxing place to stay

  • 4 of 5

We had the thrill of our lives as three Manatee swam by while we were sitting on the dock.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brookville, PA

We had a great time!

  • 5 of 5

When we arrived at Mermaid landing I was thinking about complaining about the bed. It had seen better days, swaybacked is the term that came to mind. Then Jason called to ask if he could interrupt our vacation long enough to bring in a new mattress. He didn't say he was bringing a mattress- he asked if he could. BIG difference. The new mattress was great and the interruption was minimal.

Overall the stay was great. We saw manatee from the dock at least twice. I mean AT THE DOCK, close enough to touch. Fish, turtles, lots of birds. The neighbors were quiet and polite.

Jason and Andrea, thanks for a wonderful memory.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Really enjoyed kayaking and canoeing on canal and river. Very relaxing .

  • 4 of 5

It was great to be able to be able to grill outdoors. Close to pine island beach and pontoon rentals.

The bed needs a new mattress and larger coffee cups would be much appreciated.

Would be nice to have a pizza cutter.

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the tip on the mattress. We replaced the mattress last month when we were visiting. There was a pizza cutter at one point. I'll check on that when I'm there this summer. Glad you had a great time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect low stress getaway spot

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for 3 nights with two adults, and had a great time. The house was comfortable and well equipped, the location is excellent, and the included kayaks were great.

One day we kayaked up the river to Weeki Wachee state park. This is a very scenic all-day trip with no supplies or services available, so leave early and take plenty of water and snacks if you go.

We also kayaked down the river to Hospital Hole and were able to get in the water with about 5 friendly manatee who would come within a foot of us. We had it to ourselves for about 20 minutes before a big group of loud paddlers showed up, but if the timing works out it is the perfect place to see the manatee close up. The paddle back from Hospital Hole is against a fast current, it is a fairly short trip but tiring so plan accordingly.

The house is clean and well-maintained and provides all the essentials you'd need to make simple meals.

We could occasionally hear the people upstairs moving around and the cookware and furnishings showed some wear, but everything was very appropriate for a casual affordable river rental. If things like this bother you this might not be the best choice, but it worked out great for us and in sure we'll be back next year.

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

It was in the perfect location

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location. Lots of fun.

  • 3 of 5

I would first like to compliment the amenities. The use of the kayaks was AWESOME! There were inner tubes, paddle boards, a canoe lots of river fun! There was a grill, and the screen room was nice to sit in to get away from the bugs. The outside dock was a blast for the kids. Now, here is why I felt the need to give this place a 3 star review. When I arrived the house was not clean. I addressed the issue with the owner and it was advised to me that it was a scheduling mistake. They quickly had the cleaning woman come and clean the place. She was very friendly and efficient. So, that said, that is not why I am giving 3 stars. That would have given 4. This is why: the location advises sleeping accommodations for 6 people. I had two adults and two children. The pull out couch was broken. The springs that attach the bed to the frame were broken off, so it was not usable. There were two extra blankets and one decent one on the bed. One was so badly ripped and stained and dirty that I could not put it on my kids. (And I am pretty down to earth, so it had to be pretty bad for me to feel this way). The other blanket was torn and smelled bad. . There were a few fitted sheets, so I just piled those on myself. If you are advertising sleeping accommodationsthen it is reasonable to assume that there would be provisions for 6. Also, as a side note, a little bit of cleaning supplies; a broom, cleaner, mop, those things would help to keep the home well cared for during the stay. If the sleeping provisions were remedied, this would easily move to a 4star to a 5star review.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry about your experience with the bedding. We have not had anyone else mention the pull out issue or the bedding problems so we have not been able to remedy them. We will definitely take care of that right away. As for the listing advertising that it sleeps 6, that is not accurate. We clearly state that we can accommodate 4. Anymore than 4 would be cramped. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience and we are glad you enjoyed the location.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $65
Refundable damage deposit $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.