Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon

Fantasy Getaway Cottage on Private Pond with Waterfall, Rock Pool and Hot Tub

Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 650 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

One Bedroom, One and a Half Bathrooms Sleeps Four

A Perfect Fantasy Escape. 650 sq ft Cottage is beautifully secluded on 10 acres with a private pond. Sit in the hot tub and watch the waterfall cascade into a rock pool and flow into a beautiful 15,000 sq/ft lined swimming pond...or sit in the rock pool under the waterfall and you will think you must be in Hawaii.The expansive lanai and deck are perfect for catching the sun; alfreco dining under the stars; hanging out with friends; reading your favorite book...you name it and it will be as good as anything you've imagined. The beach has a zero depth entry for lounging or playing in the water. Inside this gem you will find everything you need for a delightful stay: From the leather lounge and viking bed you can watch the fireplace or the large flat screen TV to the rainfall shower with natural stone and tile. Only a two minute walk from the scenic Shenandoah River. Skyline Drive, hiking and biking trails, 100 holes of golf, shopping, restaurants only 10-20 minutes away!


Property Manager
Frank O'Reilly and Sean O'Reilly
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 27, 2017

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(50 traveler reviews)

5

Great getaway

  • 5 of 5

Very clean, and modern interior design, very well thought out space. Relaxing and away from it all, apart from missing an extra pan to cook with, a very nice stay. would highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

We loved the house, but the beds will keep us from going back

  • 3 of 5

We loved this cottage, the privacy, location to hiking, trails, and the river. The stone pond and waterfall were a very nice touch. I have to say, for the detail that was put into the house, the beds were terribly uncomfortable. Everyone in our group suffered from the uncomfortable beds and it was noticeable. If it weren't for the beds, I would have given this cottage a 5 star review.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for visiting and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed the best and most unique parts of the property! Thanks for your valuable feedback as well. It's very important for us to hear where we can improve our hospitality. We are disappointed that we did not meet your standards with the beds. I can assure you that we are looking into better options for the main bed downstairs to try and increase the comfort in the limited space. The sofa bed in the loft is auxiliary sleeping and we understand it has limitations on comfort as well. We will do our best to improve this issue for our future guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Plainsboro, NJ
5

Wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5

We had a blast at the pond house! My husband and I stayed for 7 nights for our 10 year anniversary. It was so peaceful, and very private. The gravel road coming into the property got washed out, which caused us a little trouble getting there, but the owner was very prompt in fixing up the road the next morning. That was the only problem we came across the whole stay (and not that big of a deal either). The hot tub was great. Our small dogs had a blast exploring the property. And I got into a kayak for the first time (I'm not an adventurous person, LOL). A family of 6 deer wandered across each morning, stopping to drink from the pond. It was just so great to be away from everything! We can't wait to come back every year.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We will certainly be thrilled to have you back again should you be able to make it! Thanks for staying and we appreciate your patience with the driveway. Best Regards and Happy New Year from the O'Reilly's!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Beautiful private our fur babies were free to play and we're safe

  • 5 of 5

I planned this trip back in March 2016 as a surprise for my husband to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. It was the perfect setting In the mountains to relax let our fur babies play and have fun. Amazing to relax in the hot tub on a chilly night by moon lite. Over all perfect ..

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Can't get much better of a review that an "over all perfect..!" Thank you so much for staying for such a memorable anniversary! It is a treat for us to host such moments for our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Sandston, VA
5

Tranquil retreat..

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had an amazing relaxing 3-night stay from October 9-12. This cottage is perfect for anyone who needs a break from it all.. We thoroughly enjoyed the calming peace and quiet of this picturesque property. The awesome thing about this property is most common items are on hand(hair dryer, kitchen utensils, nice large bath towels..etc) The property is very secluded from town but yet a very short distance (10min drive) to Wal-Mart, Target, Dollar Tree, Cracker Barrel, Starbucks, IHOP, and other various eateries). The hot tub was fantastic! My husband is not a big hot tub person so the chilly evenings I relaed in the hot tub and he made use of the fire pit. We saw so much wildlife (deer, turkeys, squirrels, and doves) I would definitely recommend you have an all-wheel drive car or suv (the drive wasn't awful by any means. However, if we would have taken my car I am not sure if it would have handled the steep inclines or have bottomed out) this is by no means a negative response, its country living. Just a good tip. We look very much forward to returning to this amazing property in furture or perhaps the "Overlook" property. With that being said I absolutely loved our stay! We can hardly wait to return!

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the detailed review! Fantastic to hear you had such a memorable stay. You touched on so many of the wonderful aspects of the property and we are glad that you enjoyed them. We do our best to keep the hilly driveways maintained and appreciate the understanding that gravel roads sometimes have a mind of their own, especially in rainy weather! If a bigger car is an option, we would recommend it too. However, small cars can pass safely if care is used.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The perfect little getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful few days at the Pond Cottage. It's amazing how much ease and comfort can fit into such a cute little house! We had everything we needed: peace and quiet, comfy reading spots, lovely nap areas, restaurants nearby, the sound of the waterfall, a pond for the dog and an abundance of wildlife. Any questions we had were promptly answered by Sean, which we appreciate. You have made new annual (or maybe more often) guests! Next time we'll try the Overlook, then the Farmhouse and then the new house. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring 2017
Mar 21 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$249
From
$299
Fri,Sat
$1,399
 
 
Summer 2017
May 26 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$299
$1,899
 
 
Autumn 2017
Sep 5 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$299
$1,799
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$299
$1,799
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $20 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.0%

There is a Pet Fee of $20 per night/per pet

One night stay may be considered under certain circumstances, but there will be an extra fee ($50)

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Email Manager Email Manager
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Front Royal Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Split-System Air Conditioning
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Viking bed Alcove
    Bedroom 2 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , loft room with 1/2 bath
  • Downstairs Queen size 'Viking' bed with fireplace and water views!
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Raft
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beautiful water fall into rock pool that overflows into pond is one of a kind experience. Large lined swimming pond with beach only steps from deck. While we do out best to keep everything up and running, all outdoor amenities are subject to weather or maintenance limitations (example: waterfall turned in colder months to keep pipes from freezing/bursting)

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car