check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Incredible San Diego Dreamin' House - Pool, Hot Tub, Tiki Bar, BBQ, Firepit


Property Details

Updated: Sep 25, 2016
3 bd, 1.5 bath for up to 7 people. Come enjoy our tropical resort-like setting!

Incredible San Diego home available for rent!

***PLEASE MAKE SURE TO CONTACT US FOR AN ACCURATE QUOTE. The instant quote on HomeAway/VRBO is very limiting and your actual rate might be slightly more or might be LESS than displayed. Thank you. :) ***

Enjoy beautiful San Diego in your own centrally located true California home. The house has been upgraded throughout with hardwood floors, slate, granite counter tops, modern appliances, large LCD flat screen TVs and tasteful décor.

We spent January of this year updating all sorts of things from touch-up paint to resurfacing the pool. We added granite counter tops at the barbeque, bought additional barstools for outside, replanted the flower gardens, got rid of the aging deck, added new carpet, and many more updates!

Perfect for family or a romantic getaway, the private yard is overflowing with amenities. Delight in a refreshing dip in the custom heated fiberglass swimming pool with rock waterfall and reclining ledge surrounded by tropical landscaping and koi pond. Sit poolside at the thatched wet bar and have a cold beverage as your favorite tunes play on the outdoor stereo system. Rinse off in the outdoor hot shower and get ready for some great food from the built-in stainless steel barbecue. Catch some California sun in one of the poolside lounge chairs or sip your morning coffee on the shaded patio. In the evening turn on the ambient landscape lighting, light the tiki torches, stream some music from your phone, and slip into the jetted spa hot tub with groovy colored lights. After you have relaxed away your day of sightseeing, sit around the lava rock fire pit and enjoy the temperate San Diego evening before retiring to one of the home’s luxuriously comfortable beds for a blissful night’s sleep.

The house sleeps up to 7 people in 3 bedrooms (CA king, 2 queens, twin).

See the map below for the location of the house. Almost everything in San Diego is no more than a 15-20 minute drive from this perfect location. Beaches, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, downtown San Diego Gaslamp, San Diego Airport, and more!

Not far from a main road, grocery and department stores are within a mile of the house. Public tennis courts at Linda Vista Community Park are only 2 miles from the house.

Living room: 52” flat screen TV, surround sound stereo system with CD/DVD player, streaming video with Netflix/Amazon Instant Video/Hulu, media center with computer, printer/scanner, and WiFi.

Kitchen: Granite counter tops, stainless appliances (Bosch dishwasher, GE Profile side by side fridge, GE Profile oven/stove), wine fridge, coffee maker, coffee grinder, electric kettle, toaster, blender, microwave, ice maker, filtered water, stocked spice drawer and more!

Master bedroom: California king bed (Simmons Beautyrest World Class), 52” flat screen TV with DVD player, streaming video with Netflix/Amazon Instant Video,/Hulu, attached half bath.

Second bedroom: Queen bed (Simmons Beautyrest Westin Heavenly Bed) with 32' flat screen TV and streaming video with Netflix/Amazon Instant Video/Hulu.

Third bedroom: Queen bed with memory foam topper and twin bed (Simmons DeepSleep) with 32' flat screen TV and streaming video with Netflix/Amazon Instant Video/Hulu.

Bathrooms: ¾ bath with modern tile and design, stone & tile shower with body sprayers. ½ bath attached to master bedroom.


• Have a boat? No problem. There is separate covered gated 30’ parking pad.

• Ceiling fans throughout with nice cool San Diego breezes.

• Garage with room for small car. Home gym with bowflex, elliptical, free-weights, ab chair, power tower.

• Upgraded washer and dryer.

• Close to freeways.

• 5 miles from Qualcomm Stadium for football games & other events (the Holiday Bowl, Chargers!)

A $500 down payment is needed to book your reservation. This guarantees that this property is reserved for you. The person making the reservation must be at least 25 years of age.

50% of the remainder of the cost of your stay is due within 7 days of booking or 60 days prior to your arrival. The remainder of the balance is due 30 days prior to your arrival.

See more photos on our website at sddreamin dot com

Keywords: tropical, private, bar, yard, spa, jacuzzi, hot tub, wet bar, barbecue, deck, patio, garage, gym, laundry, washer, dryer, central, USD, SDSU, Qualcomm Stadium

Incredible San Diego Dreamin' House - Heated Pool/Hot Tub/Fire Pit/BBQ/Tiki Bar

More Details
  • Sleeps 7
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom, 1 Half Bath
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards

Recent Review

About the Owner

I have enjoyed my home for many years customizing the house and back yard to my liking. Now I'd like to try living in some other areas of the city and let others enjoy my home.

Speaks: english, german

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our guest entered such a nice review in our book (we are fortunate to have so many good comments in our book actually!) that I wanted to share this one.....


This was such an amazing place to come together a a family. The location was great...on the days that we wanted to venture out we never had far to go. On the days we wanted to get some R&R we were more than happy to hang out here.

What really surprised me was that on the VRBO website this place seemed "too good to be true"...and then when you get here it surpasses that already high expectation you had in mind... and then you realize that the website & photos really don't prepare you for how truly amazing this place is!

My favorite part of the property was the privacy of the yard...totally not what I was expecting for a place within city limits. There were a couple of times I didn't even do my hair/make-up...what a treat!
Aug 2011
  • 1 of 1

33 Reviews

based on 33 traveler reviews


An Excellent Vacation Home for our Family!

  • 5 of 5

We have used VRBO in the past and this is by far the best experience we have ever had! We stayed in January of 2015 and could not have asked for a better place to stay. My Husband, Father and our two kids had a blast! From the time we booked our stay up to our arrival, the communication was excellent. Dave and Leslie think of everything to make your stay comfortable, by everything, I mean everything! A welcome basket and personal note upon arriving. A tour through the home so we knew how to use everything and just a sincere warm welcome! There is a well stocked kitchen with spices and cookware that made meal preparation easy. I had a horrible cold while we were travelling and ran out of medicine, there was cold medicine to cover me that night. Extra toilet paper, a ton of towels, toiletries (like shampoo and body wash), ziplock bags, maps, menu's, even coupons for nearby places. When you are traveling these are the the things you need but it's really a hassle to buy or pack them, not to mention an added expense, especially if you need one little ziplock bag for airport security. The home was clean and comfortable and we felt like we could call it home for a week. The backyard is an amazing oasis of fun and comfort from the pool to hot tub=pure bliss! WE CANNOT WAIT TO GO BACK!!

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Amazing backyard....well equipped home!

  • 5 of 5

I don't even know where to start. Dave was wonderful from the booking process to the return of our security deposit. The house itself was very clean and well equipped. The amenities went above and beyond. From beach towels and coolers, to condiments in the fridge, to a linen closest with extra toiletries, to board games and movies for the kids. There was even coffee and creamer for the morning and a welcome basket with goodies. The binder with many suggestions on restaurants and things to do was so helpful. And then - the backyard! The backyard was beautiful. Well taken care of and so well laid out. Because of the wonderful backyard we decided to add a day onto our stay....we loved it that much! The location of the house was very convenient to all that San Diego has to offer. We look forward to future stay!

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Northern CO

Wonderful Home, Wonderful Hosts!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed in several vacation rentals but the amenities of this one - above and beyond. No need to run to run out for a cooler, forgotten shampoo, sunscreen, etc.; everything we needed was at the house, including a welcome basket with snacks.

Great location within blocks of a local grocery store and off a freeway (noise was not an issue) which made it easy to get everywhere - we made it to Legoland in about 20-25 minutes and to the zoo in about 10-15 minutes.

The kids had an awesome time swimming and making smores and I had the best birthday ever! Thank you so much, Dave & Leslie. We are already talking about staying again in a year or two.

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great home, amazing back yard, excellent owners!!

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed in Dave & Leslie's home for a week and we couldn't have been happier. Both Dave & Leslie were wonderful & answered immediately if we had any questions. The house had everything we needed & much more including a welcome basket with goodies & coupons we could use for different attractions. I think my favorite touch was the binder with menus and information on all that was in the area. The location of this house is perfect too, only about 15 mins from Coronado Island, LaJolla Cove, the San Diego Zoo, etc. The back yard is like a tropical oasis, we spend a lot of time out there. Everything was clean & worked great. Thank you Dave & Leslie for a wonderful home!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing house and amazing hosts!

  • 5 of 5

I cannot rave enough about Dave and Leslie. They are so welcoming. I had trouble getting into town because of my flight being cancelled so I lost a whole day of my vacation. I contacted Dave and he was so concerned and put me at ease. He gave me access to the house even though I had no idea when my flight was going to get in. He even texted me and said he did a bit of groceries for me just to get me through the morning. Wow! talk about hospitality. I arrived at 5am the next day, I didn't want to bother him with a late or too early text message to inform him of my arrival but he insisted I let him know when I got in because he wanted to make sure we arrived safely. When I arrived at their cozy home there was a gift basket with a welcome note. I tell you...these San Diego people are so nice :)

Now about their house. Super cute, inviting, warm and you feel right at home. To be honest I think the house looked better in person than in pictures. Beds and furniture are all comfortable.Their backyard is amazing. We enjoyed the hot tub almost every night. It was a bit cold for the pool but my kids enjoyed it nonetheless. Because San Diego was quite chilly at night we definitely enjoyed the fire pit and we got to barbecue on their grill 2 out of the 5 days we were there. They have a nice koi pond that my kids enjoyed taking turns each day of feeding the fish. The house is located near EVERYTHING. You'll be at SeaWorld, Zoo, Balboa Park all within 10-15 minutes. I was impressed on how well the house was stocked up. I don't think I missed anything while I was there, they really stock up with everything you can possibly need.

Thank you Dave and Leslie for sharing your home with me and my family. I highly recommend your home to whoever ask me where they should stay when visiting San Diego. San Diego Dreamin' is definitely the place to stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Kelowna

needs some TLC

  • 2 of 5

The location was convenient for accessing freeway because you are basically right on the freeway.....I cant believe there wasn't much mention of this in the other reviews, when you are in the lovely back yard all you can hear is the 8 lane freeway right beside you. They do have speakers (which only 2 of 4 worked) to help drown the noise.

We had wanted the pool heated but when we arrived the pool was barely 70 degrees which was disappointing for us and the kids, Dave explained it was colder than normal and he was sorry. He left the heater on for us for the whole time we were there (3 nights) and it was definitely warm by our last day. He explained we could use the pool cover to help keep pool warmer which was rolled up in the corner of the yard. I took a look at the pool cover and it would of taken me 30 min to clean it before we could use it as it was filthy. Being a pool owner myself I would of already had the cover on for my paying customers.....another disappointment

We then went to have a shower on day 1 and the water was a bit warmer than the pool water. I texted Dave and he said there was a new water heater and try turning it up so I did. I told him I would let him know how it was when we had our showers on day 2. Next morning still no hot water so I texted him at 8 am telling him we would be gone from 9 am - 300pm if he could fix it which he said he would. We returned at 3pm to find Dave and Leslie still working on shower with the water turned off.....They finally phoned a plumber around 5pm to fix the problem. Since this was going on we went out for dinner and Dave graciously gave us 100 for dinner. The problem was fixed by the time we returned home at 8pm and Dave had left us a 50 dollar gift card for our troubles.

Another issue we had was our first morning we woke up it was 61 degrees in the house and when we turned up the thermostat nothing happened, so Dave had to come and look at that as well.

The house itself needs some TLC carpets in all bedrooms needs replacing or cleaning, pedestal sink in half bath isn't attached to anything.......signs of skylight or roof leaking in living room, garage is full of clutter, curtains in master bedroom just fell off wall couple of times, bbq would barely get hot enough to cook my chicken, outside fridge hasn't been cleaned for a long time (inside was gross).

They refunded us $350..I wanted $500 at least.

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the feedback and again, apologies for the issues during your stay. I’m limited in my response size, so I will have to be brief. Yes, the drywall is being repaired in January (when the house is vacant) from a(now repaired) skylight leak earlier this season. The house is up the hill from the fwy (as stated in our FAQ) but we have never had a guest state it was an issue hence it not being mentioned in past reviews. The garage is not full of clutter but does have many items that we leave for our guests including coolers, chairs, stroller, pak n play, gym equipment along the wall and a washer and dryer. You never mentioned anything about the BBQ (which is working fine) so I am not certain what could have happened there and the outdoor refrigerator is cleaned after every guest. The plumbing issue. As soon as we learned the shower temp was not working properly, I came right over and spent the day trying to resolve it. I did not wait until 5 to phone a plumber. That was simply the quickest we could get an emergency plumber out to the house to replace the malfunctioning part. We had no previous indication from anybody that there was a problem and we still feel badly about that. The pool temperature. I had to scramble after an unexpected wind storm so I cranked up the pool heater and ran it for your entire stay. I offered to put on the pool cover (which cleaned up with a squirt of the hose in a matter of minutes) which would have helped significantly but you declined. I take care of those matters for guests. The pool was up to temperature by your second day, but that is not up to our standard so your heating fee was refunded. Unfortunately you were only staying at the house for a few days which makes it difficult to recover from any issues and we certainly understand that your trip did not meet your expectations and for that we are sorry. I cannot give you your time back but I did try to compensate you for your inconvenience. We take great pride in providing our guests with the best possible stay but I was not willing to keep sending addl (unknown $) to help avoid a bad review per your request. That is not the way that we do business. We had some unfortunate things happen during your stay and we did our absolute best to correct them. We have never had a bad review in the 5 years that we have been renting the house and we will try to learn from this experience. Thank you for your feedback and it was nice meeting you and your family.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


From the Owner

It is very central to all areas of San Diego. I have always loved living in Clairemont.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : San Diego International Airport (SAN) at 9 Miles Nearest Barpub : Applebee's or 1.5 mi to Carriage House Bar at 0.5 Miles Nearest Train : Santa Fe Depot, Downtown San Diego at 8 Miles Nearest Motorway : 805 or 163 at 1 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Islands, Applebee's or Vietnamese food are closest at 0.5 Miles Nearest Beach : Pacific Beach at 6.5 Miles

Clairemont is centrally located to almost anything you might want to do in San Diego. It's not a beach community, but also escapes the overbearing heat of the inland communities during the summertime. It's about a 10-15 minute drive to just about anywhere in San Diego including beaches, downtown, SeaWorld, etc. The house itself is in a family type neighborhood, not a young party beach area (although it's only a short drive to such a place. :)

Balboa drive has almost everything you need from major grocery stores, restaurants, Target, Home Depot. 24 Hour Fitness, bars, etc.

The house is close to both the 163 and 805 freeways and major streets which makes it easy to get around.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
High Season
Jun 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest
Low Season
Oct 1 2016 - Feb 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $175
Pool Heating (optional) $50
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 10.5%

******We are limited as to the details we can put on this site so please contact us for an exact quote! :) *******
Rates vary for holidays, Comic-Con, size of group, ALL-STAR Game July 12, 2016, and length of stay.
Prices are in US dollars. Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
Pool heating fee depends on length of stay.
$500 up front, 50% at 60 days, 50% at 30 days out.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Updated: Sep 25, 2016
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


From the Owner

My favorite thing is listening to some music while going for a nighttime swim.

Property Type

  • house


  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions


  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Heating
  • Gym
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Printer
  • Scanner
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet


  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area


  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • DVR
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • MP3 Dock
  • Radio
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library

Pool / Spa

  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • In Ground Pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...


  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • smoking allowed ...

Location Type

  • Near The Ocean


  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Floor Area

  • 1100 sq. ft.


  • Bathroom 1 - toilet, shower, Modern bath with great tile work and body sprayers
  • Master Bathroom - toilet


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king, Super comfy California King. Simmons Beautyrest World Class.
  • 2nd Bedroom - 1 queen, Simmons Beautyrest Westin Heavenly bed - the best!
  • 3rd Bedroom - 1 queen, 1 twin/ single, Queen with memory foam bed topper & Simmons Deep Sleep twin
  • King size beds (1) This is a super comfy California King. Simmons Beautyrest World Class (!), Queen size Beds (2) One is a Simmons Beautyrest Westin Heavenly bed (!) which is just about the best mattress out there, and the other queen has a memory foam bed topper., Twin or Single Beds (1) Simmons DeepSleep.


  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Porch Furniture
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
  • 20 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs


  • Guests provide their own meals

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website


  • Outdoor covered thatched wet bar with refrigerator, gas lava rock fire pit, outdoor hot shower, gym equipment, printer/scanner. The clock-radios in all bedrooms allow for connection to your mobile device.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car