check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Great location, Views, Walk to Ski, Golf, Zoo, Forest

3.7/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)


Property Details

Updated: Nov 21, 2016
Condo, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

Actually have two 4 BRs just steps from each other (very similar)

It is hard to believe all these activities are at your disposal and many are within walking distance. There is an unobstructed, indescribable view of Big Bear Mountain Ski Resort and the surrounding mountains.

You can relax on the deck watching the birds and squirrels play in the pondaosa pine trees, or keep an eye on the skiers and snowboarders while enjoying a warm fire or cooking on the BBQ. If you are a skier or snow boarder, you will be sleeping across from one of the best ski ares in Southern California. You may be one of the first skiers on the slopes and return for lunch and nap and head back for more runs in the afternoon. At no extra cost you can catch the tram and ski at Snow Summit free of charge. This is the best winter location in So CA.

Two 4 BR chalets next to each other very similar Mountain views living is larger and cost a little more.

Also have 6BR VRBO #149392 sleeps 15 in beds and a 2 BR VRBO # 151424 sleeps 6 in beds.

If you would like to see my other listings: go to Owner Information Section at bottom of page and click on ALL MY RENTAL LISTINGS

Keywords: top,floor above garages, no connecting walls you are the king/queen.

More Details
  • Sleeps 12
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Owner

I have been the owner for over 30 years. Just fell in love with Big Bear years ago and just can't seem to let go. Taught school in Huntington Beach for many years and enjoyed working and playing in Big Bear in my spare time.

Call Owner
Speaks: english

7 Reviews

3.7/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Los Angeles


  • 5 of 5

Our experience at Bear View Chalets was fun in the four bedroom, very comfortable chalet. The cabin ambiance felt earthy and wholesome to the twelve individuals in our group. We shared a large living space with a very clean, well equipped kitchen. Rich, the owner couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating; we felt safe and had ample parking available. It was convenient to have access to a washer and dryer. Due that the chalet is located at the very edge of town, there was an unforgettable woodsy, quiet atmosphere. The National Forest is a very short walk away and so is a nearby zoo. It was interesting to hear the animals at the zoo in the evening from our deck as we barbecued our dinner during our mild temperature nights. The skiing was great during our stay, and our group had a great time together without concern for carpooling and traffic to ski at Big Bear Mountain, which is right across the street from Bear View Chalets. We'll certainly come back.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. Please come back. Rich
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pasadena, CA

Great location, but what a dump!

  • 1 of 5

You could not ask for a better location, right across the street from Bear Mountain Ski Resort. However, this condo is run-down and shabby. The furniture is old, the brown carpet is ugly and dirty. The pillows and bedding were old and stained, and one pillow even had dried blood stains on it. The major appliances were at least 20 years old. The refrigerator was too warm, with no interior light. The dishwasher and toaster did not work properly. You could not turn on the gas burners on the stove when then oven was on. The television in the bedroom did not work. The wi-fi did not work, despite owner representations that it did. Utensils, dishes, pots and pans were cheap and inadequate. We paid an exorbitant rate the week after Christmas, and the owner did not even provide toilet paper, paper towels, trash bags, bath soap, or a clean kitchen sponge. He also wanted us to haul our trash to the municipal dump two miles away, because he has no trash service. When I asked for return of our security deposit, the owner demurred, saying he had 29 days to return it. I had to file a complaint with VRBO. What a rip-off.

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was not going to comment on the review of this unhappy person although the rest of the occupants seem to enjoy my chalet and gave me the impression not to take her comments to serious.Most of her comment were outrageous and just not true. All the appliances are in working order and if they don't work I do have replacements if requested (toasters and coffee makers) All of the bed linens are washed and all the beds 15+pillows have pillow cases on them. I doubt weather there was blood on a pillow case. We replace the pillows when necessary as we do the furniture. Sorry she does not like my choice of furnishings. The only comment that was brought to my attention was the light bulb in the refer was out and the refer was not cold enough. I came with a bulb, but the sockit was damaged and I could not satisfy her wishes The refer seem to work fine. The freezer was making ice cubes and the side of the refer were cold. When there is 12 people going in and out of the refrigerator it is difficult to keep things as cold as one would like. I suggested to keep the drinks in a cooler one the deck. If she would have mentioned anything was not clean I would have sent someone over to take care of it. The busiest time of the year is between Christmas and New Years. Everything in Big Bear is booked months ahead. All the prices are too much. If you can avoid this time you can save money and avoid the crowds, but if you must go at this time my chalet is the place to be. Transepertation is not necessary to get to the ski slopes as you walk across the street, The wi fi does work most of the time. There is one 32" TV. I never stated the deposits would be refunded until after 29 days. My policy is before 21 days and most of the time after the holidays less then 10. She did tell some truths. My guest are notified in advance they are to bring there own personal items, paper products, trash bags and firewood. Trash is brought to the public dumb site as do most of the rentals in big Bear. The oven is actually 30 years old and has a gas pilot. If the oven is very hot some of the stove burners must be lit with a liter or matches that are provided. She was confined to a wheel chair it may have something to do with her attitude, but i get many handicapped skiers and the Jr Blind come ever year. Oh well you can't please everyone, but I still try. rich
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect Location, Great View

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at this rental for 2 nights and it was perfectly located. Just walk across the street and into Bear Mountain Resort. We had a nice view of the mountain and lifts. It was warm, had ample space for 12 people, and it was perfect for lots of children since the furniture was sturdy. This is a simple and functional rental and it worked out well for us. Our only suggestion is that some paper and basic cleaning products be provided. We found the unit clean, but needed to clean up after cooking meals, etc. It would just make things easier.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Did not get a chance to stay here but....

  • 5 of 5

Unfortunately my timing did not work out for this place, however I found the hunt for the perfect place to be time consuming, confusing and difficult. The owner of this home spent a lot of time today talking me thorough the area and really try to help me in my search. He made many attempts to reach me, was easy to talk to and very informative. He was also extremely accommodating to my current location when it came payment time. Like I said, this home did not work out because of a calendar issue but I will keep it as a favorite and hope to stay there in the future just based on how easy and accommodating my conversation was with this gentlemen today. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

bear mountain chalet

  • 1 of 5

This 'chalet' was 3rd world travel at a 5 star rice tag. The facilities were filthy and shabby, with sub par electrical and cardboard cheap mattresses. The blankets were so old and worn that they were crispy. I went to the local walgreens to buy new blankets for our visit. The location was certainly ideal, but at what a price! The wifi did NOT work despite promises that it did. the lamps were broken and the lighting circuits were very limited. the kitchen utensils and pots, pans, etc were filthy and outdated. I was not only disappointed, I was disgusted, as was my family. NEVER AGAIN : (

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I do take all comments seriously and am always looking to improve to make my property better to make my visitors happy so that they will return. When tenants are untruthful, exaggerate and hurtful you think of some ulterior motives. My number is outside the property and our management company numbers are inside the property. I did not hear of these concerns and comments until they were posted in this review. I do know that during the holidays management companies are overwhelmed, that is why I chose to be in Big Bear, to make sure my people were well taken care of. I did note that this party left my chalet in such a mess we needed to rake the carpet before it could be vacuumed. Dirty pots, cutlery and dishes were left everywhere. I suspect that this review is posted for the sole purpose that this party would not be charged for their neglect. I don't claim that my chalets compare to the Taj Mahal, but they are well worth the price if you want a fantastic location and a comfortable clean place to stay. Our chalets are very well equipped and have comforters on the beds, and spare blankets. In addition the 4 bedrooms have dual pane windows and central heating, with vents in all rooms. We have heard from past guests that the queen and full sized beds are comfortable. (No cardboard mattresses). If there were any concerns that that the place were not clean or up to par, we would have taken care of them promptly if notified. Yesterday, I upgraded my modem and router to improve the WiFi service. The electrical outlets are all working and appear on each wall. There are wall and ceiling lights in all rooms in addition to an assortment of lamps. Management is instructed to test all lamps and leave spare bulbs on the premise. I do take much pride in my chalets and many of my tenants are return visitors. I have had a family that comes from Brazil for 17 years straight. I am a responsible owner and I do care about my visitors experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 2
Santa Clarita, CA USA

Amazing October Stay

  • 5 of 5

Our cabin was close to everything for family fun: the zoo, the forest with bicycling/hiking trails and golfing. We didn't need our car. The chalet was roomy, clean,and with a well-equipped kitchen, all we needed to bring was our favorite foods. From our balcony we admired the views and beautiful changing colors of the fall season as we BBQ'd our meals. We took an evening family stroll to admire a clear, starry sky from the forest. Our third night was magical as the weather changed and we were surprised by a light snow fall. Our family enjoyed the beautiful sights created by the new fallen snow and envisioned our family's return for a winter ski season stay in our 4 bedroom chalet right across from Bear Mountain Ski And Snowboarding Resort.October 7, 2013

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I am so happy you and your family had a good stay. After 30 years in this business, it still warms my heart when I know I am providing a happy setting to visitors.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Snow Summit
"A free shuttle is caught just across the street. Your ski ticket is accepted at both Bear M..."
Bear Mountain
"One of the best snowboard parks in the world. Skiing is great also. i love Siver Mountain ..."
Big Bear Lake
"Best lake in So CA, many activities"
Big Bear Snow Play
"Fun for all especially the youngsters"
Boulder Bay Park
"Very nice views, you will want to take pictures"
Alpine Slide at Magic Mountain
"Fun and more fun"
The Bowling Barn
Big Bear Alpine Zoo
The Village
Swim Beach
"Great family fun"
Village Theaters North
Big Bear Discovery Center
"Forest service does a nice job teaching about the area and it is free."
Castle Rock Trail
"Great trail.. The whole family will enjoy."

From the Owner

Great location, walk to: ski, golf, hiking, and biking. Great views! This is the best winter location in So CA

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Big Bear at 5 Miles Nearest Barpub : Bear Mtn and Moonridge Golf at 0.2 Miles Nearest Golf : Moonridge at 0.2 Miles Nearest Train : San Bernadino at 30 Miles Nearest Motorway : 38 at 2.5 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Bear Mountain Resort at 0.1 Miles Nearest Ski : Bear Mountain at 0.1 Miles Nearest Beach : Big Bear Lake at 2 Miles Car: recommended

This location is great for hikers and mountain bikers.Just two blocks to mountain trails that lead to the top of the mountain. No nwayeed to take a lift up as you are half way there from your chalet.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Nov 29 2016 - Dec 15 2016
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 11 guests; add $45 per night, per additional guest
Pre Christmas
Dec 16 2016 - Dec 21 2016
2 night minimum stay
Dec 22 2016 - Jan 2 2017
4 night minimum stay
Jan 3 2017 - Jan 11 2017
2 night minimum stay
Martain Luther King
Jan 12 2017 - Jan 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
Jan 18 2017 - Feb 8 2017
2 night minimum stay
Presidants day
Feb 9 2017 - Feb 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
Feb 15 2017 - Apr 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 11 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $165 + Tax
booking fee $35 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 11.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Email Owner
Updated: Nov 21, 2016
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


From the Owner

Oh! what a view and try our hot tub

Property Type

  • condo


  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions


  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...


  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster


  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area


  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television

Pool / Spa

  • Hot Tub
  • Shared Hot Tub ...


  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed

Location Type

  • Golf Course Front
  • Golf Course View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
  • Ski-In
  • Ski-Out


  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Floor Area

  • 1300 sq. ft.


  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2
  • Both bath are full baths


  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Other (See Description)
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 double, 1 bunk bed
  • Bedroom 4 - 2 double, 1 bunk bed
  • Sleeps total of 12 all in bedrooms and in beds


  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...


  • Guests provide their own meals


  • Best winter location in SO CA, just steps to Bear and snow board park. Spring, Summer , Fall rates are hard to beat.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car