Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Modern luxury house in the heart of the Golden Circle - Winter and Summer!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms1
Half Baths2
Space 220 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

5 bedroom (incl one guesthouse), 3 bathrooms, sleeps 10.

Grund is a modern luxury house 220 sqm. only 45 minutes drive from Reykjavik with hot tub, steam bath, washer & dryer, Internet wi-fi, TV. Perfect property for anyone who wants to see some of the most beautiful sights of Iceland and relax with all the comfort you can imagine. Small soccerfield w goals if you want to play and several golf courses in close range. Located in the heart of 'the Golden Circle' the famous sight seeing route.


Owner
Thorsteinn and Bjargey
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, swedish, danish, Icelandic, Danish, Swedish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 10, 2017

About Thorsteinn and Bjargey

We have been involved in tourism for more than 20 years.

Thorsteinn and Bjargey purchased this house in 2008

Why Thorsteinn and Bjargey chose Iceland

We built this house 2008. Since we now live in Sweden because of work, we wanted travelers to Iceland to have the opportunity to stay. Grund is located in the heart of the popular Golden Circle. Close to Reykjavik, the capital and very short to get service at Selfoss and Hveragerdi. A lot of things to see and do in the neighborhood but also an excellent place to do just nothing but relax and enjoy the nature.

What makes this house unique

The size and quality of Grund and the location makes it unique.

Amenities

South House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 220 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm System
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Paper Towels
  • Secure Parking
  • Security System
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 mini spa - toilet , shower , double shower / mini spa
    Bathroom 2 2nd floor - toilet
    Outdoor shower - outdoor shower , outdoor shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , guesthouse
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , Guest house
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , TV room
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Sauna
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • volcano
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

5

Delightful, peaceful - quintessential Iceland

  • 5 of 5

We LOVED Grund! It was the perfect home base for our multi-generational Icelandic adventure (2 parents, 3 children, 3 grandparents). It is a beautiful space for relaxing after being outside all day. We enjoyed the hot tub and beautiful views. The house layout gave everyone space at night, but a comfortable common area to visit. The kids had their own large space to spread out and play upstairs which was quite nice.

We chose the location because it placed us closer to more places we wanted to visit and explore in the Golden Circle, to reduce travel time and Grund was great for this. You will want to rent your own car.

The Owner is responsive and flexible - a great person to work with. We found the house to be clean, high quality, and well prepared for making meals and a great night's sleep. Enjoy your visit to Iceland - the country is amazing!

  • Submitted: May 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great house, not clean

  • 3 of 5

The house is a great size for a large group, especially with the open floor plan allowing for large family meals. We had 6 adults and 2 kids in the four bedrooms in the house, we didn't use the fifth bedroom outside and still had plenty of room. We were able to see the northern lights several nights from the patios and were centrally located to everything we wanted to see that week.

A couple of negatives:

- The hot tub cover was broken and it wasn't fully covered when we arrived. We never used it because we weren't sure about the cleanliness, more about that below.

- The house was dirty when we arrived. We had to spend the first part of our visit cleaning - sweeping up old food off the kitchen floor and dining room, sanitizing down surfaces in the living areas that clearly had not been cleaned before we arrived (old food, smears, etc.), and sweeping excessive dust off the stairs and floors.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Warm, cozy and beautiful!!

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our group of 9. We had 2 grandparents, 4 kids from ages 5-9 and three parents. Because we were traveling with children, we asked the owner if we could come straight to the home after our flight landed at 5am and they had no problems with this request. This made life so much easier, as we could all get some sleep right away and still have a full day to see some sights close by like Gullfoss. There was plenty of space for all of us. The house was very warm and all the amenities worked well. The kids loved the hot tub and exploring the area around the house. We also got to see an amazing display of the Northern Lights simply by walking outside! Everything was wonderful, and we hope that we are able to return to this beautiful spot again one day!

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Central location to south coast sites, easy to find, and a hot tub

  • 5 of 5

Nice place just outside Selfoss, only a short drive to the local grocery or apothecary if you need anything. Easy to access and park at the house, after you arrive. To get to the house at arrival and leave at departure, I did need international calling to have Thorrstein or his son open a gate. After arrival though, I had all the codes and remotes necessary to come and go whenever. Great location for splitting day trips between sites around the south coast (e.g Gulfoss one day, Vik a different day). The hot tub is awesome and was used a lot by our group of travelers.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Iceland is amazing

  • 2 of 5

Iceland was amazing and beautiful. The house was great size for all of us and amazing location but it was dirty, dust everywhere, pee stains on the mattress, dirty towel under one of the beds covered in dust. Someone pants that stayed there before us was in the garden frozen. Wasn't cleared away. Hot tub was great but bubbles don't work but still relaxing under the stars. For the price the house needs to be a lot cleaner. Plus you agree with the price and pay deposit. Soon as you get there he adds more money to the bill due the currency changing which is not right!!!!

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear guest, I'm very sorry that you experienced Grund that way and we always do our very best to make our guests happy. However, there are few things I want to mention regarding this review. I was there when you arrived and I showed you around the house. I only got very positive replies at that time. As you know there was snow all over and the wind blowing so if someone had left something in the garden it was hard to discover that at that time. The hot tub does not have bubbles and is not advertised as jacuzzi w bubbles. Regarding the payment, I usually quote the rent in USD like in this instance. I'm not adding more money to the bill. You wanted to pay it in a different currency and it is just based on the official exchange rate when you pay. I actually spoke to you twice in person about the payments plus more emails and you never mentioned that the rate was higher than originally quoted. Therefore, it's a surprise to me to see this comment here. I've double checked this myself and I can not see that you have been charged more than originally quoted, but like I wrote to you please be in contact and explain to me what you mean and of course I refund you if you have paid too much. Best regards, Thorsteinn
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Great house and flawless process...no complaints!

  • 5 of 5

The house and renting experience was amazing. Not only was Thorstein responsive but he was available to answer any questions and concerns we had. Iceland was amazing because of the comfort and location of this home. The group of 11 friends enjoyed every amenity- hottub, kitchen, sound system, heated floors, cards and games, laundry equipment and sauna. Thank you and hope to stay here again!!

  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Vestmanna
Jökulsárlón Glacier Lagoon
Hveragerdi

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
$3,200
$7,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$420
From
$429
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,900
$6,900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 14.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Email Owner Email Owner
Available
Unavailable

Special HomeAway Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car

You might like these similar properties